main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Help Please:)

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Darth_Skywalker2, Feb 5, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Darth_Skywalker2

Darth_Skywalker2 Jedi Youngling star 2

Sep 26, 2004
    Hey everybody! I am thinking about writing a Star Wars fan fiction story about a young Jedi Apprentice who becomes friends with Anakin Skywalker, I can't decide if it should be in journal form or not? Does anybody have any tips/ideas about writing a Star Wars Fan Fiction? This is my first attempt at a Star Wars story. :)

2. Amidala_Skywalker

Amidala_Skywalker Manager Emeritus star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Jul 4, 2001
    Well, since this is your first SW story, I think journal form would be good. You?d be getting into the fandom slowly and expand from there. Journal forms has its pros (for instance, you really get into the mind of the character) and cons (for instance, you have to be vague about events and things said to your character). I?ve tried journal format before and enjoyed it. Some of the most profound pieces come from introspective journals. In the end, go with what makes you feel comfortable. Do you feel you?ll be better writing and analysing a character?s thoughts or writing description and dialogue?

Ams [face_love]

3. poor yorick

poor yorick Ex-Mod star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA VIP - Game Host

Jun 25, 2002
    Journal format can be difficult to pull off, for a lot of reasons--one of which is that it's difficult to adapt it to a standard plot arc. "Classical" plots that start with a problem, have attempts to solve it in the middle, and a "show-down" at the end in which the problem is resolved aren't the be-all and end-all of writing, but they're easier to write in a way that keeps readers engaged.