JCC Help! : ) Ripping my DVD collection, starting with TPM

Discussion in 'Community' started by Zane the Reaper, Feb 11, 2013.

  1. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    Hey guys - I hope this is the right forum for this. If not, many apologies.

    Anyway, I've been experimenting with ripping my DVD collection to digital format, starting with my copy of The Phantom Menace. I'm been using Freemake and Handbrake.

    Anyway, when I convert to a digital file format (doesn't matter which), I notice that the video is choppy/jerky. Not terribly so, but enough that it's distracting. I believe this is a frame rate issue, and have been trying to research what to do about it, but I'm having a real hard time resolving this issue. I think it has something to do with variable frame-rates, but I'm not sure.

    So, if there's anyone who is knowledgeable out there when it comes to DVD ripping, any suggestions? Do I need to tweak the bitrate? Is there a specific framerate I should be using?

    Any help would be appreciated. Thanks for your time, and if this is the wrong place for a post like this, my apologies to the mod.
  2. JackG Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 15, 2011
    star 4
    Isn't that illegal?
  3. AaylaSecurOWNED Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    May 19, 2005
    star 6
    WDNDSWIJCC so you either have to switch to a different DVD or move the thread.
  4. Alexrd Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 7, 2009
    star 5
    Why not create an .ISO and be done with it?
  5. Eeth-my-Koth Chosen One

    Member Since:
    May 25, 2001
    star 9
  6. Darth-Lando Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 12, 2002
    star 6
    Only if he tries to make copies and distribute them. A backup copy for personal use is perfectly legal.
  7. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    What?

    No I'm copying my own store-bought DVD for my own use. I'm not selling it or uploading it or anything like that.

    And that is? ;-)
  8. DarthBoba Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 9
    What program are you using to rip them?
  9. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    I've used Freemake and Handbrake. I get decent files each time, but always with jerky/choppy framerate.
  10. Alexrd Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 7, 2009
    star 5
    An ISO file is a virtual image of a DVD. You open the file on a virtual drive as if you were playing a DVD. Basically, an ISO has all the content of your DVD (menus, chapters, tracks, etc) and has no compression at all.
  11. Stackpole_The_Hobbit Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 31, 2002
    star 6
    It's possible your discs are scratchy or dirty. Clean them with dish soap and hot water first, drying by wiping outward from the centre hole (microfibre towel would be best, but paper towel is less bad than a proper towel). Also I recommend playing around with the settings so you not only have the best file type for what you'll use it for (if you watch them on an Xbox you'll need mp4 files; if you use an apple TV you'll need M4v optimised for apple TV, for example), but so you have a good framerate and quality.

    EDIT:
    The down side of course is it takes up a bastard of space.
    Last edited by Stackpole_The_Hobbit, Feb 11, 2013
  12. yankee8255 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    May 31, 2005
    star 6
    I use Handbrake all the time, never choppy. Old computer?

    As to the legality, as I understand it, under US Law it is illegal to circumvent the copy protection on DVDs (but not audio CDs) even if you're only making copies for your own use.
  13. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Not in my country.
    JackG likes this.
  14. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    Brand new computer. DVD is in good condition. In my google-ing I've come across people who've encountered the same problem and it has something to do with "variable frame rate" but I can never seem to get a straight answer as to what will fix it.

    Do you tweak the settings at all? Have you ripped a special effects heavy movie like TPM without problem?

    Again, thanks to those who are trying to answer my question.
  15. yankee8255 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    May 31, 2005
    star 6
    On Handbrake I just use the presets for my iPod touch. The only thing I change is the audio setting for it to "compress" the volume, so I hear the dialogue better.That doesn't have any impact on the video quality, i owuld think.

    Maybe Handbrake just has the good sense to realize that TPM shouldn't be ripped, but shredded.
  16. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    lol! wocka wocka
  17. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    I'll try a to tweak the settings a bit more, but it might just be the damn movie. Thanks guys.
  18. DarthBoba Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 9
    Hmm...from a BR disc? Handbrake can have issues with those.
  19. Zane the Reaper Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2012
    star 1
    Nah, DVD.

    After scouring the internet (again) I have a few ideas. I'll come back and post if it works.
    Last edited by Zane the Reaper, Feb 11, 2013
  20. DarthBoba Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 9
    Weird...I've never had trouble with Handbrake rips.