main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

How did they get the "I am your father" line?

Discussion in 'Classic Trilogy' started by AdamBertocci, May 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AdamBertocci

AdamBertocci Manager Emeritus star 7 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Feb 3, 2002
    Okay, this has been bugging me for a while.

We know how GL wanted "I am your father" to be a big surprise, so much that he gave the actors misleading lines ("Obi-Wan killed your father" or "Obi-Wan is your father"), for example.

Now correct me if I'm wrong, but I believe they also gave James Earl Jones a red-herring line to say -- something other than "I am your father".

IF this is the case, then how did they create the audio for the "I am your father" line? As a moviemaker and editor myself, I promise you that you cannot simply snatch up an "I", a "am", a "your" and a "father" and run them together and expect them to sound right.

My BEST guess is that they told him to say "I am your destiny" (or something like that) in a chilling tone of voice, and ran it together with a "father" dummy line.

Thoughts? Or, better yet, the TRUTH?

Rick McCallum loves you!

2. Im_just_guessing

Im_just_guessing Jedi Knight star 7

Oct 23, 2002
    I can't correct you if you're wrong, but I never heard anything about James Earl Jones not knowing the real line...

IJG

3. President-JarJar

President-JarJar Jedi Youngling star 2

Mar 22, 2003
    Dude..., I don't completely understand. ?[face_plain]

"I am your Destiny" [face_laugh]

4. Spacehunter24

Spacehunter24 Jedi Padawan star 4

Jan 2, 2003
    "I am you density."
    "What?"
    "I mean, your destiny." :D

Seriously, though, I've always read that James Earl Jones was among the very few people who knew the "I am your father" line since he had to record it.

5. TK_Four_Two_One

TK_Four_Two_One Jedi Grand Master star 5

Jun 17, 2002