Saga How do lightsabers get activated?

Discussion in 'Star Wars Saga In-Depth' started by DBZGTKOSDH, May 16, 2014.

Moderators: Darth_Nub, Lt.Cmdr.Thrawn
  1. DBZGTKOSDH Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 31, 2013
    star 1
  2. Alexrd Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 7, 2009
    star 5
    Just press the button...?
  3. Hernalt Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 2
    First they have to set up an account, complete with color and email and Light side or Dark side preference. Then they have to wait for a confirmation email. Then they click the link and they are activated.
    Thuro, DowClimber, Cyreides and 6 others like this.
  4. Darth Vader's Chest Plate Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 18, 2013
    star 1
    Could the button be be pressed by the force? If so could a lightsaber be activated and used via telekinesis?
    Which would be interesting to see on screen.
  5. DBZGTKOSDH Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 31, 2013
    star 1
    Do they have one? Wouldn't there be accidents like "****, I accidentally turned it on/off!"?
  6. Alexrd Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 7, 2009
    star 5
    They do.

    That's why there is a button to press.

    I don't see why not.
    Last edited by Alexrd, May 16, 2014
  7. Iron_lord Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    star 6
    In the EU some Jedi have an activation system for the saber that requires the Force (so a non-sensitive can't use the saber).

    Maybe the button's on the inside rather than the outside in this case.
  8. Anakin Solo Revanchist Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 9, 2011
    star 4
    I'm just curious how the mechanism that deactivates the blade once the hilt leaves the user's hand works. :p
  9. darth-sinister Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 28, 2001
    star 9
    All Lightsabers have an activation button.

    [IMG]

    See the rectangle box on the sides? That's the activation button during the OT era.

    [IMG]

    See the red buttons? That's the PT era activation button.

    There's a locking switch or some such that keeps the blade on, but shuts off once it hits the floor. Such as when Vader tosses his saber at Luke in the throne room, versus it just shutting down when dropped such as Qui-gon's saber when he's run through.
    Last edited by darth-sinister, May 16, 2014
    rdhight likes this.
  10. Legolas Skywalker Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2012
    star 6
    You press a big red button, very noticeable and really handy
  11. Hernalt Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 2
    Those rectangle boxes look like flashlight magnets for metal surfaces.
  12. CairnsTony Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 7, 2014
    star 3
    Even if we had the slightest doubt that there was an external button, we know there's one on Luke's sabre, otherwise Han wouldn't have been able to activate it in ESB.
  13. darth-sinister Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 28, 2001
    star 9
    If you look real closely, especially in ROTJ, you can see Hamill move his hand when he's supposed to close down his saber, before tossing it away.
  14. Anakin Solo Revanchist Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 9, 2011
    star 4
    In the first picture on the right - that's Anakin Skywalker's AOTC lightsaber. Actually, technically speaking, all three on the right are Anakin's lightsabers :p So, not exclusive to the OT.
  15. Ingram_I Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 7, 2012
    star 2
    I wanna know how Vader slowly activated his blade in Empire. Tell me that move wasn't pimp!
    Hernalt likes this.
  16. rumsmuggler Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 31, 2000
    star 7
    Probably an effects error that was cool enough to not alter.
  17. Iron_lord Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    star 6
    Obi-Wan slowly activates his blade in ANH when he first sees Vader aboard the Death Star, as well.
  18. HevyDevy Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2011
    star 3
    That seemed largely for dramatic effect to me. It really re-enforced that it's an important de-activation, he is kind of sighing as he does it. Just saying.
  19. darth-sinister Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 28, 2001
    star 9
    ILM was still working out the kinks when it came to Lightsaber blades. Most of the time in ANH and TESB, the blades extend and retract off screen. It was really a trial and error process. For ROTJ, the process was more refined hence seeing it on screen more often. By the time the PT rolled around, they had it completely down to a science and thus it showed.
  20. Kato Sai Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 27, 2014
    star 4
    @Ingram_I, I read somewhere that Jedi and Sith can activate their Lightsaber's using the Force and thus this could be why there is delay or slow activation. It was once believed, thought it might be refuted now, that a lightsaber only stays activated if a Jedi or Sith concentrates with the Force on their Saber. The moment there is a break from the connection with the Force the liightsaber deactivates.
  21. timmoishere Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 2, 2007
    star 6
    A standard lightsaber has a pressure sensor in the handle, so that the blade will automatically shut off if the handle is released. There is an override switch to keep the blade locked on, such as when Vader hurls his lightsaber at Luke.
    In the EU, Corran Horn's lightsaber has an additional safety feature: he needs to press the button twice in order to shut off the blade, to ensure that he doesn't accidentally do so during combat.
  22. darth-sinister Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 28, 2001
    star 9

    The only time that was ever true was in "The Crystal Star" when Hethir uses the Force to ignite and close down his Lightsaber. All the other Jedi and Sith rely on an activation button.
    timmoishere and rumsmuggler like this.
  23. Kato Sai Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 27, 2014
    star 4
    I have always been aware of the button (the basic to advanced FX Lightsabers have them). I was merely sharing another possibility that I remember reading in the early days, before The Clone Wars.
  24. darth-sinister Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jun 28, 2001
    star 9
    I know. I was pointing out that it came from one EU story, but it was only in that story. The rest of the time, it was the button.
  25. Separatist101 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2010
    star 3
    by pressing a button, simple as that really
Moderators: Darth_Nub, Lt.Cmdr.Thrawn