main
side
curve
  1. Welcome, Guest

Upcoming events:

Star Wars: Andor - Disney + - 21st September

2. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Oceania How does our legislative system work?

Discussion in 'Oceania Discussion Boards' started by The Gatherer, Jan 30, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The Gatherer

The Gatherer Jedi Youngling star 6

Aug 2, 1999
    Hello all,

I studied politics in year 11 & 12, however, that as been a while ago now, and I have a few questions about our legislative process... I know that there are a few learned people in this forum, so I hope somoene can come to my assistance in my humble pursuit of knowledge.

Some of you may not know, that in our Constitution, the role / name of Prime Minister is not even mentioned.

Does it mention parliamentarians? If not, then what defines their 'job description'?

What defines what jurisdiction and what kind of laws that the Federal Government can make?

Can the Senate make it's own legislation, or is it only a chamber of review for the legislation created by the House of Representatives?

If the Senate CAN make legislation, then what differs from the Senate and the House is what kind of legislation they can make?

2. HawkNC

HawkNC Former RSA: Oceania star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Oct 23, 2001
    I'd answer this, but I have no clue whatsoever, so I'm just going to wait for Saintheart to get his butt into this thread and put us all in awe of his legal knowledge. :p

3. Nyder

Nyder Jedi Master star 4

Jun 27, 2002
    The whole system is stupid.

What's to stop politicians from making up stupid laws like you have to go to church on Sunday's or you get 5 years in jail? Don't laugh - it could happen.

4. Ender Sai

Ender Sai Chosen One star 10

Feb 18, 2001