main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

HOW TO MAKE LIGHTSABERS 2.0

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by DorkmanScott, Nov 10, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. beafet

    beafet Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Mar 12, 2001
    Use WinDV?


    [face_plain]
     
  2. DarthArjuna

    DarthArjuna Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 14, 2002
    Haven't noticed that at all. I've imported full tapes with no problems. Maybe it's a version problem?

    Ver. 1.1.2427.1... so sort of special or upgraded edition.
     
  3. bgii_2000

    bgii_2000 Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Jan 21, 2005
    Lightsaber props:

    For the hilt I used this simple combination which cost less than $13.

    1 8in long 3/4in galvinized steel pipe nipple (hilt)
    1 3/4 steel galvinized pipe end-cap (pommel)
    1 1in UL conduit connector (emmiter)

    For the blades I have found a new source: Ski poles.
    I found mine in the trash. They're fiberglass and I wrapped them in tape to protect actors against shattering (although they have take quite a beating and are still just fine.) I went to a skiswap 2 days ago and they had composite ski poles going for $20/pair.

    Two or three 1in bolts with stopnuts to hold the blade in place... viola! Good looking stunt saber for $23, and VERY easy to construct.

    The only downside is that they really suck as hero props.

    Bgii_2000
     
  4. DarthDee

    DarthDee Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Can anyone on here help me with a making lightsabers wth Ulead Media Studio V 5.0. I tried using Clay Cronkes Tutorial, but It doesn't make any sense like he says open in Video Paint... THERE IS NO VIDEO PAINT.. I have been over the help section and the book OVER AND OVER.. sorry this is very frustrating. So if anyone else knows how to make the effects using this program.. Please.. PLEASE let me know.
     
  5. PixelMagic

    PixelMagic Jedi Master star 5

    Registered:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Just one thing, in the article it states that you would be hard pressed to find a graflex 3 cell for less than $1000. I think you meant to put $100. You can get a graflex 3 cell from parksabers.com for $150.
     
  6. durbnpoisn

    durbnpoisn TFN Staff Cast & Crew Database star 5 VIP

    Registered:
    May 20, 2002
    And now I will gloat because I was right.

    On the first page I said, "within a week there will be a new thread..."

    That was on the 10th. Yesterday was the 16th. I almost was wrong by a full day. Almost.

    I now will laugh [face_laugh] [face_laugh]

    It's so hard being so right all the time!
     
  7. Daniel_L

    Daniel_L Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Sep 19, 2005
    Just a Note about [link=http://www.thelightsaber.com]LuukeSabers[/link] is that you are not allowed to steal the designs because lately he has issued that that is Plagiarism


     
  8. brook_33

    brook_33 Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Dec 30, 2003
    Hey guys. I make my sabers out of wooden dowels, but I paint them and they don't look real at all. I remember in one of the EP3 webdocs they explained that they'd learned to chrome rubber. Is it possible to chrome wood? How? Thanks for the help.
     
  9. Daniel_L

    Daniel_L Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Sep 19, 2005
    No: wood is not conductive, and you need a conductive material to chrome plate
     
  10. bgii_2000

    bgii_2000 Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Jan 21, 2005
    You can use "chrome" paint, or chrome tape.
     
  11. _darthvalek_

    _darthvalek_ Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Nov 22, 2005
    You should look after that lsmaker, they have new sabers looking realy like episode 3 sabers
     
  12. DVeditor

    DVeditor Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 21, 2001
    And that's a good thing? :p
     
  13. _darthvalek_

    _darthvalek_ Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Nov 22, 2005
    i personaly think starwars lightsabers are cooler :p
     
  14. DVeditor

    DVeditor Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Ah, I see. I just meant that IMHO the ROTS sabers were a little...lacking. ;)
     
  15. C_E

    C_E Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Aug 23, 2005
    If darthvalek hasnt told any of you yet-theres a new program that is made just for lightsabers-maby some of you have heard of it-its called LSMaker and theres also other programs such as lssound,for the sounds, and lstext,for the flying text at the beginning of the movies. It call all be found at [link=http://lsmaker.uw.hu]lsmaker.uw.hu [/link]
     
  16. Evil-Henchman

    Evil-Henchman Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Jul 17, 2004
    Very, very old news. Thanks for trying though.
     
  17. Funk-E

    Funk-E Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Sep 11, 2003
    Well, while it's old news, it's not in the main topic, which is odd.
     
  18. darthsithvalek

    darthsithvalek Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Dec 22, 2005
    [face_laugh] some kid from lsmaker forums.I use only AE for this matter :p lsmaker sucks when compared with ae.no offence
     
  19. C_E

    C_E Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Aug 23, 2005
    and ur not a kid? are u just some 20 year old star wars nerd that lives with his mom? and i do use ae
     
  20. DVeditor

    DVeditor Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 21, 2001
    Let's stay on topic guys. ;)
     
  21. Aio-Dhar_Yaquel

    Aio-Dhar_Yaquel Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Dec 27, 2005
    If any of you guys out there have macs, there's a great program called Crimson FX. It is available for download here http://www.lamarchefamily.net/nakedsoft/ . There's one downside to this program. When you widen the core, the aura widens also. The source code is available on the site also. If anyone here knows how to modify it so that the aura stays the same size, and would do it, and would send the new code to me at tripleventi23@hotmail.com that would be awesome. Thanx
     
  22. darthsithvalek

    darthsithvalek Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Dec 22, 2005
    please don't insult me C_E.

    DV EDIT: Let's leave it at that.
     
  23. Dako

    Dako Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Yes, this is a lightsaber related question.

    Dorkman, what audio editor did you use for Ryan vs. Dorkman, or just, what audio editor do you use?

    (Lightsaber related in the way my question is related to Lightsaber Sound Mixing.)
     
  24. DorkmanScott

    DorkmanScott Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Mar 26, 2001
    I used Sonic Foundry Sound Forge XP. Might have been a good question for a PM, instead.

    M. Scott
     
  25. Dako

    Dako Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Jun 7, 2005
    Sorry Dorkman, I just wanted to know because [link=http://s7.yousendit.com/d.aspx?id=1BZX8198LTGRC1720QKEOI7GDB]these sounds[/link] were not in any of the six movies, so were obviously other sounds that were edited, so I just wanted to know what program you used to edit them. That's all.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.