main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Lightsabers & Blasters How to mod your Master replicas Anakin ep.III FX lightsaber for removeable blade in 10 steps

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by Enzerumo, Aug 3, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    What you will need:
    a drill with small drill bits and various phillups and flathead bits,an allen wrench that fits,soder and sodering tool if you screw up,and tape dosen't matter what kind.

    1.Take out battery pack(DO NOT ATTEMPT WITH IT IN I GOT SHOCKED)
    2.Remove details remove all 4 pins for the quick recharge socket and belt clip.
    3.Drill a hole in the center of the blade power adjust(on front) and blade length adjust(on back) and unscrew.
    4.Pry the golden design plate in the activation box and unscrew(DO NOT PULL HARD)unscrew tiny screws and pull it out.
    5.Push switch in to the hole in the case if its not big enough then use a drill.
    6.Unscrew the Allen head screw at top.(DO NOT REMOVE PRIOR TO THIS STEP)
    7."Genty"pull blade out of outer frame.
    8.Locate the two metal pins at the top that go all the way through the frame and hammer out with a small screwdriver and pull out with plyers.
    9.Slowly pull out blade and set aside.
    10.Put it all back togeather and turn on you should have sound and motion control
    insert blade when ever you wish on or off it will still light when on.
     
  2. VillieGee

    VillieGee Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Oct 30, 2002
    I was told you can just pry off those copper colored buttons. You don't have to drill through them.
     
  3. siLv_Rieekan

    siLv_Rieekan Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Jul 31, 2003
    Nice guide but i also think that you dont have to drill holes.
     
  4. VillieGee

    VillieGee Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Come to think of it, I don't think you have to remove the belt clip and those 4 pins either.
     
  5. electrakitty

    electrakitty Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Apr 27, 2005
    I would sooo love to do this to my Anakin saber, but I'm too scared I'll break it. Guess it'll stay as it is :)
     
  6. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    Drill the holes or you wont be able to get the back on as for the belt clip i took it off so as not to damage it or other things and the pins remove them you wont be able to budge the inner case with them in there when you have as much time on your hands as i do the look at it with a magnafing glass and you'll see.
     
  7. Rogan_Agar

    Rogan_Agar Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Dec 1, 2004
    Sounds interesting, but easiest way is probably to buy one without the blade ;)
     
  8. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    can't buy a MR saber with removeable blade
     
  9. sal

    sal Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Jun 28, 2004
    I think he's talking about the LE
     
  10. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    i did it with my darth vader one to but i did not do a good job now i can switch blades and im working on replacement blades
     
  11. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    i c but isn't it cheaper this way?
     
  12. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    im holding my anikin saber with red blade right now
     
  13. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    woot i figured it out how to make more blades let me do some research on the name of something and then ill tell you
     
  14. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    http://www.thecustomsabershop.com/sabers/Scripts/prodView.asp?idproduct=31
    for el wire and blade supplies
    and
    http://shop3.outpost.com/product/2421710?site=sr:SEARCH:MAIN_RSLT_PG
    for DIN plug
    connet and vala
    Note:Untested may or may not work
     
  15. VillieGee

    VillieGee Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Posting 5 times in 24 minutes is kind of obnoxious. Try to put all your thoughts together before hitting that post button. And it's spelled "voila."
     
  16. JainaMSolo

    JainaMSolo Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Jan 19, 2001
    Using some punctuation will also help us understand your instructions better.
     
  17. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    ok,everybody is a critic.
     
  18. Jedi-Loreen

    Jedi-Loreen Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Dec 2, 2002
    And some people ^ are just too lazy to write properly.

    Keep in mind that this is the way you are presenting yourself to the world. Don't you want people to have a good impression of you? Take some care when you are are writing. What's ok when IMing, is not so great when posting on message boards.
    ;)
     
  19. Sister_Sola

    Sister_Sola Manager Emeritus star 4 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Nov 19, 2002
    Enzerumo, also keep in mind that you can edit your post up to 90 minutes after first posting it. Keeps the place cleaner, friendlier, easier to understand. :)
     
  20. Madison

    Madison Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Jul 26, 2005
    No drilling involved, just a lot of courage to get those copper buttons off. [face_worried]

    [image=http://i13.photobucket.com/albums/a261/AvalonPhoto/IMG_2379.jpg]

    My wonderful MR saber--- uhh I mean FX saber.

    [Madison]
     
  21. VillieGee

    VillieGee Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Yeah, see? You don't have to drill anything. Madison, did you have to remove the gold pin things?
     
  22. sal

    sal Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Jun 28, 2004
    Here's my plan, I believe I am getting an FX Anakin RoTS saber so I plan to take out the mr blade, and just put an el kit in this way everytime I want the blade in I dont have to take the whole piece apart and reassemble all over again, do you think its worth it? I dont know I've ne ver tried this with anything so keep that in mind....
     
  23. Madison

    Madison Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Jul 26, 2005
    There are a couple sets of pins. Do you mean the gold input sections for a "quick recharge"?

    EDIT: If you guys want I can set up a picture by picture instructional to removing the blade. Might have time later, but I'll see who is interested.

     
  24. VillieGee

    VillieGee Jedi Youngling star 3

    Registered:
    Oct 30, 2002
    Yeah those things. Two little holes with 2 gold pins in each toward the emitter end. Did you have to remove those?
     
  25. Enzerumo

    Enzerumo Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 2005
    ok so you dont have to drill i was wrong but i had to i pried them off and i could not get them back on so i had to dill to get to the screws
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.