How to use cheats on KOTOR PC

Discussion in 'Games' started by 16AndPregnant, Feb 14, 2013.

  1. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    I did all of the steps required, but for some reason when I try to enter cheats nothing shows up. Has anyone ever had that problem?
  2. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    1) What version of the game are you using (original CD; Best of PC; Steam; Collector DVD)?

    2) What version of Windows are you using?

    3) So, you entered the line EnableCheats=1 under [Game Options] in the swkotor.ini file, right? Did reopen the file to see if it actually saved?
    16AndPregnant likes this.
  3. General Immodet Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 5, 2012
    star 4
    Why would you use cheats while playing KOTOR in the first place?
    The game is not that difficult, neither can you unlock nice things.
  4. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    Well, the warp feature, for one.
  5. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    1. KOTOR 1 + 2 Collection (has Darth Malak and Nihilus on the cover, and at the top it says 2 OF THE GREATEST STAR WARS GAMES EVER)
    2. Windows 7
    3. Yes. Yes.
  6. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    OK, in which game are you trying to bring up the console?

    You can see it in KotOR 1, but KotOR 2's is invisible. It still works, though.
    16AndPregnant likes this.
  7. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    KOTOR 1.
  8. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    So, you hit the ` key and the prompt doesn't appear?

    It might not work with the Collection DVD version of the .exe, but I have no idea why.
    16AndPregnant likes this.
  9. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    Are there any alternatives?
  10. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    Yes. KotOR Savegame Editor (KSE).

    Note that you might have to make a custom registry key so it will automatically find your game as opposed to having to manually set it every time you run the editor.
    16AndPregnant likes this.
  11. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    So I click that link and download the one that says:

  12. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    Yeah, that's it.
    16AndPregnant likes this.
  13. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    Thank you so much for all of your help. It works perfectly. Will the cheats slow your game down if they're set too high?
  14. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    The saved game that I was adding cheats to is no longer loading properly and doesn't work. How do I fix this?
  15. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    It's likely that your save became corrupted. You'll just have to use another one. That's why I usually use KSE on a quicksave.
    You can actually break the game by setting certain attributes too high, though I don't know why you'd want to; the game's already pretty easy.
    Last edited by EvilQ, Feb 17, 2013
  16. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    The game is easy, I've beaten it more than once. Is there a way to fix the corrupted file? Or in anyway restore it? After being corrupted a few times, it started working again and I could play but once I went into a different area it started to freeze again on the loading screen like it had been previously.

    And what's a quick save?
    Last edited by 16AndPregnant, Feb 17, 2013
  17. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    A quicksave is a savegame that's made instantly by pressing F4 during gameplay without having to use the menu. Pressing F5 will load the quicksave, also without having to use the menu. A new quicksave will overwrite the previous one. Both KotOR games are pretty flaky and require the player to save often, and in different slots, so what I do is make a "hard" save with the savegame menu every time I level up and also at key plot points and then use quicksave when I pause the game and before entering a conversation or a fight.

    As for fixing a corrupted save, it would depend on what you did to corrupt it in the first place, and using KSE to undo it.
    Last edited by EvilQ, Feb 17, 2013
  18. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    Possibly even uninstalling KSE and reinstalling it? I thought of that.
  19. 16AndPregnant Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2013
    star 1
    Man I'm not even sure if this is going to work.
  20. EvilQ Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 8, 2013
    star 1
    It's a standalone executable. There's no installing or uninstalling it.

    Have you tried undoing the changes you made to the save?

    If you can't, just go back to a previous save. Use the autosave if it's the most recent one.
    Last edited by EvilQ, Feb 17, 2013