main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

I have a question about maxscripts...

Discussion in 'Archive: Scifi 3D Forum' started by Shadows_545, Jul 19, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shadows_545

Shadows_545 Jedi Master star 2

Sep 21, 2002
    How are scripts viewed? As tools that should be used as much as possible to model faster and better or are they considered cheating? The thing is is that I've recently discovered some very awsome maxscripts and I would love to use them, but some of them I don't get what they do, in other words when I use them they create but I don't know how they achieved it... Should I feel bad for using them to help me model?

BTW I wouldn't even ask if I was an expert modeler, but I'm still a newb in alot of ways. So I guess the real question is would the use of the maxscripts somehow mess up my learning of modeling?

Thanks anyone for your thoughts!

2. Darth_Steven

Darth_Steven Jedi Youngling star 2

Jul 14, 2002
    Any tool is a good tool...But I would recommend that to become a well rounded modeller don't rely solely on the scripts. Because one day, you'll run into something that the script can't do or a script hasn't been written to do it yet...then your brain, creativity and inginuity has to take over.

I'm not a professional modeller by any stretch of the imagination. However, I can tell you that I get a greater sense of accomplishment solving a problem on my own rather than relying on a script to do the work for me. But scripts do serve a good purpose for efficiency and some problem solving.

This is a good discussion topic I think....

Later
    Steve

3. Only-One-Tea-Cozy

Only-One-Tea-Cozy Jedi Youngling star 1

Apr 8, 2004