Resource IGN to XenForo forum code and URL conversion thingy

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by lazykbys_left, Sep 3, 2012.

Moderators: Briannakin, mavjade
  1. lazykbys_left Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2005
    star 4
    The IGN to XenForo forum code and URL conversion thingy

    . . . was made because a) the thread URLs have changed and b) the [ link] and [ image] tags aren't working here at XenForo. This thingy fixes both problems.

    Simply copy&paste your post (or URL, or list of URLs) into the top box, click convert, and copy the contents of the bottom box. Depending on your browser, it may be possible to drag&drop the link from your Bookmarks (or whatever they're called).

    Yes, I do realize that this is only of limited use to people without the ability to edit pre-Move posts. But since I have it working now, I figured I might as well post it and save the indexers some headaches.

    - lazy
    leia_naberrie likes this.
  2. Ramza JC Head Admin and RPF Manager

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2008
    star 7
    That's awesome, I'm going to link this in the RPF.
  3. Jedi_Liz Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2000
    star 6
    Thank You! with an old google cache link still in my browser history, I was able to get the old url of a fanfic I wanted to find to bookmark for my profile list of fanfics....copied that and converted it and found it.
  4. ViariSkywalker Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2002
    star 4
    This is fantastic! Thank you! I wasn't sure what the new URLs for old stories would look like; good to see they're not completely different. Nice fix, lazy. :)
  5. Valairy Scot Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2005
    star 5
    Houston, we have a problem.

    Since we can't edit, we can't access our URLs in the Prolific Author thread. Does this mean we should create a new thread, or WHEN fanfic regains editing, will we be able to access our posts in that thread?
  6. ViariSkywalker Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2002
    star 4
    From what I'm able to gather in Comms, the mods are working on the link issue, so hopefully we'll figure out pretty soon if the old Prolific thread can be salvaged without having to manually edit it. Mods may say differently, but I would guess we just wait a little while before starting a new thread? Personally, I am fine with going back and editing my post in the old thread, once we are able to do so. It'd probably be quicker than reposting all my stories in a new thread.:p
  7. Valairy Scot Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2005
    star 5
    Oh, I'm fine with editing, too IF we get the ability to edit in that post. In fact, without realizing that I needed to edit to access the URL, that's what I was trying to do. Luckily, most but not all of those listings are in a word.doc that I can edit and re-upload if necessary as well.
  8. ViariSkywalker Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2002
    star 4
    Hm, I didn't realize there was a possibility that we would get unlimited editing back in the story forums but not in resource. [face_plain] That creates a whole new issue: even if we create a new thread for prolific ficcers, how would we go back and edit it whenever we post a new story? Same for any indexers. Or is the problem that we'll be able to edit post-move posts but not pre-move posts? Yeah, I've got no answers now. Sounds like a job for the mods... :p
  9. Valairy Scot Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2005
    star 5
    Well, Resource is part of FanFic so I'd suspect it'd apply across the entire fanfic board - but I don't KNOW that.
  10. ViariSkywalker Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 9, 2002
    star 4
    Yeah, I guess we'll just have to wait and see how things shake out.
  11. Valairy Scot Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2005
    star 5
    I've done some testing and have some additional notes:


    Individuality: All Together Now

    IF you only change the part as Lazy notes, to threads as above, the following error results:


    However, if you ALSO delete the /p1/?20 it works

    Some of my stories include the "message.aspx..." as highlighted below:

    Silent Raindrops

    If you only change the message.aspx?topic to threads, you get:

    However, if you amend EVERYTHING after the theforce.net/ to threads/23646044 (i.e. remove the &brd=10475) the link works, example of correct link below:

    Silent Raindrops{/link]

  12. Valairy Scot Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2005
    star 5
    A quick note from testing:
    REVISED link ONLY amending the “BeforetheSaga” to “threads” as per Lazy:

    {link=http://boards.theforce.net/threads/30054223/p1/?20]Individuality: All Together Now {/link]

    Results in:

    In this case, "threads" only does not correct the link. However, if you ALSO delete the “p1/?20 as well as change to “threads” you get:

    {link=http://boards.theforce.net/threads/30054223/]Individuality: All Together Now {[/link]
    Or formatted correctly: Individuality: All Together Now

    Now, some of my stories don’t show the era, but they do show the following:

    {link=http://boards.theforce.net/Message.aspx?topic=23646044&brd=10475] Silent Raindrops{/link]

    If you only change the “message” section to “theads” you get this error:

    Correct format is shown by the broken link below, or the correctly formatted below that:

    {link=http://boards.theforce.net/threads/23646044 Silent Raindrops{/link]

    Silent Raindrops
    Last edited by Valairy Scot, Sep 10, 2012
  13. lazykbys_left Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 17, 2005
    star 4
    Just a quick post to announce that the Thingy now supports links to posts.

    That is to say, URLs that look like:
    - boards.theforce.net/wossname/b42/1024/r1138/
    - boards.theforce.net/Message.Aspx?brd=42&topic=1024&start=1138
    Will be converted to:
    - boards.theforce.net/posts/1138/
    And the URL will take you directly to the post in question. Thank the Maker XenForo supports this feature. :)

    I'm working on links to pages, although I'm not sure how useful it will be. Maybe if I included a "pre-Move posts per page" blank . . . ?
    Last edited by lazykbys_left, Sep 11, 2012
Moderators: Briannakin, mavjade