main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

JCC Is every art form over-saturated in today's world?

Discussion in 'Community' started by Dread Pirate Roberts, Aug 14, 2017.

1. Dread Pirate Roberts

Dread Pirate Roberts Jedi Padawan star 2

Feb 28, 2017
    I'm an amateur writer and I was thinking about how many books are put out in this day and age. It seems impossible for anything I write to ever be remembered! There is just too many people doing it.
    This is similar in any art form really. Are there just too many people in the world? As the population grows, an infinitesimally smaller percentage of people will have their art appreciated and remembered. (That isn't the only goal of art i know, but it's depressing.)

2. Darth Guy

Darth Guy Chosen One star 10

Aug 16, 2002
    There aren't a lot of cave painters nowadays. Or people who write compositions for the harpsichord.

3. KnightWriter

KnightWriter Administrator Emeritus star 9 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Nov 6, 2001
    If you don't consider quality, meaning, etc., yes there's oversaturation, but that's long been the case. There's documented complaints about photography being too easy and commonplace in the early 20th century.

Much of what becomes remembered is a function of luck as much as anything else. You have to be in the right place at the right time, leaving aside various factors like privilege, connections, money, etc. (which are all of a piece, of course). Still, even money can't really buy doing something that resonates with people at a given time, other than sometimes providing some people the means to make it happen. Cheryl Strayed wrote about this (to a writer) some years ago, and the letter is in Tiny Beautiful Things. It may be online as well, via The Rumpus.