is Wings 3D reliable

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by ScaPaCamem, Nov 3, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ScaPaCamem Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 2003
    star 4
    I was wondering if wings 3d was reliable for creating ships. I have done a few things but will it be good enough for fanfilms. And also i tried going through the 3d Toolkit tutorials but they helped me none. Should i try and look at them harder and use it or try and geet good at wings 3D?
  2. PapaFett Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Nov 16, 2002
    star 2
    Hands down, wings3d is the best dedicated modeller... it runs great on slow and fast systems, is improving every day and is apparently one of those dirty little secrets in the big studios (feature film and games).

    Short answer, yes it is reliable, especially for ships...
  3. drippyzeo Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jun 11, 2002
    star 4
    Funny you should start this thread, because I just started making my first model ever in Wings3D, and I was looking for feedback.

    I should point out that my only previous modeling experience is in Blender. I LOVE the Wings3D interface.

    [image=http://www.thethousand.net/misc/runn_wip_02.jpg]

    Edit: As far as tutorials go, I did the first 20 steps or so of this tutorial, and by that time I kinda got the hang of it, so I just started working on my ship.
  4. ScaPaCamem Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 2003
    star 4
    This is may latest wings model took me about 2 hors and i have no modelling experience. Wow this prog is great! It is a WIP
    Pic 1

    pic 2
  5. ScaPaCamem Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 2003
    star 4
    [image=http://webzoom.freewebs.com/sca_pa_camem/newawesome1.jpg]

    This is a new ship ive been working on
  6. ScaPaCamem Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 2003
    star 4
    Since you can edit i have to post again.

    Update:


    [image=http://webzoom.freewebs.com/sca_pa_camem/newpicof2.jpg]
  7. Jedi-Washington Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Aug 3, 2003
    star 4
    Wow, that is nice work!

    I have had that program for a while and I cant do diddly squat with it. I guess thats the problem about growing up on Bryce. :p
  8. ScaPaCamem Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jul 10, 2003
    star 4
    thanks, yea i use bryce. Just for enviroments though and the occasianal building
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.