It's Personal: My Superior Brother

Discussion in 'Big Brother House' started by Debo, Jul 19, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Debo Chosen One

star 5
    I visited my brother yesterday in Amsterdam. It's always a little tense, because we're not the greatest of friends.

I get along with his girlfriend Janet well, but she was working so we were alone. He was busy in the garden, not really paying much attention, and interrupted me to ask how I was spending my time anyway, because I graduated a couple of months ago and wasn't doing anything.

I told him I'm taking a year off, and will go to the other end of the world in October, and so I mentioned Kerryn and explained what the JC was.

He said: "You know what your problem is? You're all pizza and fairy tales." Meaning that I'm a bit of a lightweight.

And it's always been like that. In our family, he always was The Smarter Brother: he could solve Rubik's puzzles in a day, could fix his own computer or TV, knew why Mars was red, why medieval monks wore an extra habit in Summer, he understood every letter of A Brief History Of Time, and, generally, just always knew everything. His IQ is enormous; it's 183 or something.

And because of that, he tends to talk down to me a little. And the thing is, because he's so intelligent and everyone's idol a bit, you start to believe these things. He once said: "For people like you, who never realize they're being overbearing all the time, it always comes as a shock when someone tells them that." And that line just went through my head all day. I thought, "It's true. Bullseye. That's me. He's captured me so well. I'm an idiot."

One day, Janet told me, "He doesn't really mean it, you know. When he's drunk, he always talks about you and that you are both geniuses."