main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

Jedi Outcast : Technical Help

Discussion in 'Games' started by jp-30, Mar 24, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Please use this thread to discuss TECHNICAL QUESTIONS about getting Jedi Outcast working correctly;

    ie. Whether your PC will handle Jedi Outcast. If the game crashes. If you can't get sound working etc.

    When asking for help, make sure you post your PC's system details if known.
    And try to be as specific as possible with the symptoms of the problem.

    You're not gonna get much help by posting "JO CRASHES ON MY COMPUTAR!!1! NEED HELP!1!!!1" type messages.


    System Requirements

    Operating System: Windows 95 OSR2/98/ME/2000/XP
    Computer: 100% DirectX compatible computer required.
    CPU: Pentium II or Athlon class 350 MHz or faster CPU required.
    Memory: 64MB required. 128 MB RAM required for Windows 2000 and XP.
    Graphics Card:16 MB OpenGL compatible PCI or AGP 3D Hardware Accelerator required.
    Sound Card: 16-bit DirectX 8.x compatible sound card required.
    CD-ROM: Quad Speed IDE or SCSI CD-ROM drive required.
    Input Device: Keyboard or mouse required. Joystick supported.
    DirectX: Microsoft DirectX 8.0a
    NOTE: Your system may require the "latest" drivers for your particular hardware.
    Installation: 665 MB of free hard drive space required.
    Additional free space required after game installation for Windows swap file and save games.

    Multiplayer Support
    Pentium II or Athlon class 400 MHz or faster recommended for Multiplayer.

    Local Area Network Play: Supports up to 32 players via Local Area Network.
    Internet Play: Supports up to 16+ players via 56Kbps or faster connection to the Internet.
    Dedicated Server: DSL/Cable Modem required for Internet hosting.

    3D Accelerator Card Required
    A 100% OpenGL compatible 3D Accelerator is required. Supported chipsets at time of release.

    ATI Radeon
    ATI Radeon 7500/8500
    ATI Rage 128
    ATI Rage 128 Pro
    Matrox G400
    Matrox G450
    Matrox G550
    NVIDIA GeForce 256 family
    NVIDIA GeForce 2 family
    NVIDIA GeForce 3 family
    NVIDIA RIVA TNT2 family
    PowerVR Kyro
    PowerVR Kyro II



    If your 3D card isn't on the above list, there's still a good chance the game will play on your system so long as your card's specs are similar to one of the above, and meets these requirements (Graphics Card:16 MB OpenGL compatible PCI or AGP 3D Hardware Accelerator required).


    If your PC can handle Elite Force, Return to Castle Wolfenstein or QuakeIIIArena, it will almost certainly be able to handle Jedi Outcast.





     
  2. Jedi-Corleone

    Jedi-Corleone Jedi Youngling star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Now THIS is a guy who knows how to run a forum.
     
  3. Dan

    Dan Jedi Grand Master star 6

    Registered:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Internet Play: Supports up to 16+

    Up to 16+, huh? My head hurts.
     
  4. Jedi-Corleone

    Jedi-Corleone Jedi Youngling star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 28, 2001
    From the people who brought you All Your Base comes...
     
  5. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    [face_laugh] Their words, not mine!
     
  6. Cigam Retah

    Cigam Retah Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Mar 30, 1999
    I'm curious, does anyone know what you'll need to do to play it online? Will it be through Microsoft or a closed-Lucasarts service?
     
  7. Darth_Graal

    Darth_Graal Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Nov 19, 2001
    will my amdk6-2 533 with 11mb direct 3d handle it?
    (Mind you this could be a fab excuse to upgrade!)
     
  8. Jedi-Corleone

    Jedi-Corleone Jedi Youngling star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 28, 2001
    The system requirements are above, Graal.

    Retah, presumably the multiplayer procedure will be the same as Quake III and the other games that use its engine.
     
  9. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Cigam Retah, I believe there will be several ways to hook up MP games. LAN, dedicated servers / places like The Zone, and good old TCP/IP for smaller games.

    Local Area Network Play: Supports up to 32 players via Local Area Network.
    Internet Play: Supports up to 16+ players via 56Kbps or faster connection to the Internet.
    Dedicated Server: DSL/Cable Modem required for Internet hosting.


    Darth_Graal, what's the newest game you've got working on your system? Ever played the Elite Force demo? I can get the Elite Force demo working on my 4MB ATI Rage Pro card. It's not pretty, but it's playable.




     
  10. Dan

    Dan Jedi Grand Master star 6

    Registered:
    Mar 15, 1999
    Cigam, the MSN Zone crap will be available to use, but you can also use JKII's in-game server browser. And I'd be willing to bet that programs like GameSpy and the All Seeing Eye will add JKII to their service.
     
  11. Jedi-Corleone

    Jedi-Corleone Jedi Youngling star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 28, 2001
    Doesn't matter, no-one's going to be playing this game for more than a month. It'll be teh suck.
     
  12. DUM4

    DUM4 Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Aug 23, 2000
    Can my computer handle JO?

    CPU: Intel 486/66 DX2
    RAM: 8 megs
    HARD DRIVE: 314 meg Maxtor HD
    CDROM: Creative 6x (HEX)
    MODEM: US Robotics (3COM) 28.8
    SOUND CARD: Sound Blaster 16
    FLOPPY DRIVE: 1.44 MB
    GRAPHICS CARD: Embedded Cirrus Logic
    MONITOR: Mitsubishi Diamond Pro 14 Plus

     
  13. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Hahahahahahahahahahaha!
     
  14. Cigam Retah

    Cigam Retah Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Mar 30, 1999
    Despite my comrade's chuckle, your system could most decidedly not handle the graphic intensities that Jedi Outcast require.

    And if it is a joke, that's hilarious.
     
  15. Tellesto

    Tellesto Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Dec 7, 1999
    "Judge me by my RAM do you?"
     
  16. Darth_Graal

    Darth_Graal Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Nov 19, 2001
    I just wondered cos the 3d accelerator on my system will not work with force commander, however I tried quake 3 last night and it runs lovely so woo hoo jedi outcast for me! is available on preorder in NZ for NZ$99.95!
     
  17. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    I've seen the collectors tin for that price at www.gamezone.co.nz. Seen a confirmed release date for NZ?
     
  18. Darth_Graal

    Darth_Graal Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Nov 19, 2001
    Dick smiths reckons sometime between 28/03 04/02 and price is for collectors tin with T-shirt, thank god I paid my amex last month!!
     
  19. Lt.Cmdr.Thrawn

    Lt.Cmdr.Thrawn Manager Emeritus star 6 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Sep 23, 1999
    Here's my technical problem - I need the game. :(
     
  20. rogue_five

    rogue_five Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Feb 16, 2002
    when does it come out?
     
  21. Dan

    Dan Jedi Grand Master star 6

    Registered:
    Mar 15, 1999
    In stores March 28th.
     
  22. Thrawn05

    Thrawn05 Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Aug 8, 2000
    I have a Voodoo3 3000 16MB AGP card. I can run Q3 but Q3:TA crashs a lot (I had take it back). Anyone think there might be a problem running JO?

    If not, I'll start a petition to have LucasArts use their DF engine for the next game, since that's the only came I can play at 1600 with no hitch (except on multiplayer).
     
  23. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Yeah. If you can start saving for a new card, I would do that. Ususally a stay away from putting hardware in my computer from a dead company.
     
  24. Dan

    Dan Jedi Grand Master star 6

    Registered:
    Mar 15, 1999
    I actually read on the JKII.net boards that one guy can't run it at all with a Voodoo5. I'm not sure if that's a unique situation, bad drivers, or just because it was probably warezed. But definitely stay away from 3dfx.
     
  25. Azeem

    Azeem TFN Staff, Manager Emeritus star 4 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Apr 12, 1999
    I have a Voodoo 3000 AGP. Outcast runs fine on my machine.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.