main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Hi Jumping into the New EU - Some Questions...

Discussion in 'Welcome New Users' started by Travesty, Jan 16, 2017.

1. Travesty

Travesty Jedi Youngling

Jan 15, 2017
    Hello, all! Let me first say that if this thread isn't allowed, or if there is an existing thread that this should be a part of- by all means, show me the way and lock this bad boy. I'm an unashamed newbie that can't seem to locate the Search function of this forum.

Formalities aside, after years of being Star Wars fan, I decided to take the plunge into the New EU. I started with Aftermath, which was solidly ok. I went on to read Jason Fry's Weapon of the Jedi and Greg Rucka's Smuggler's Run (quick reads with a younger target audience, but I enjoyed them). I just finished Lost Stars, which was by far and away my favorite of the four. Fantastic read!

So, now for the point of this thread- I have a few questions about the world I've just entered.

I'm a bit of a completionist and collector at heart, so naturally I'm trying to locate and purchase hardback versions of the first several books that were introduced to Canon. I snagged a first printing of Dark Disciple and A New Dawn (currently on Chapter 4- good so far, and I'm a big Rebels fan) at a local Used Book Store. I also found a first printing of Battlefront: Twilight Company at Target, of all places. So- my first question, have folks found the Original EU books to be collectible? What about the new EU? To be fair, I want these books to read and enjoy- not to eventually sell. Mainly curious because it seems to be rather difficult to find Tarkin or Lords of the Sith in hardback- is that due to a thin market online, or a result of actual collectibility?