main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

"Lamps"

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by RylorTaduri, Mar 2, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. RylorTaduri

    RylorTaduri Jedi Master star 2

    Registered:
    Sep 2, 2002
    Hey folks, I've been in modelling for 2 years now and I'm using MAX 4.2. I was just wondering how to do effect like this for lights:

    http://scifi3d.com/images/wip/565_src_legacyISD6.jpg

    Taking a wild guess I'd say it's with Post Video effects? Is there an other way to get around?
     
  2. Alessandro_Moretti

    Alessandro_Moretti Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Jun 3, 2004
    The "light stripes" are simply surfaces with a self-illumination map, and the glow is added in a compositing application, or with a Video-Post glow (If is 3dsmax)
     
  3. myself_me

    myself_me Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Feb 16, 2003
    It has now became my obligation to apply that exact effect to all the lights in my uber batteling arena.

    Wow.
     
  4. Henry_Jones_Junior

    Henry_Jones_Junior Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Sep 22, 2004
    you can do it with a glow in max video post, but if you want a better control, I would suggest to use photoshop or after effect. you can do that by duplicating layers, setting to screen fusion mode, and then playing with blur effect, color levels and contrast
     
  5. joek1010

    joek1010 Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Yeah, but don't you have to do that frame by frame in photoshop? That would be a real pain. How bad is the video post quality?
     
  6. myself_me

    myself_me Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Feb 16, 2003
    Hmm, you could render the lamps alone as a separate animation/picture, add glow/shine-plug-in/blur or whatever suits you, and overlay that over the rest of the footage in AE.

    I find that would work best, and leave you with plenty control.
     
  7. Henry_Jones_Junior

    Henry_Jones_Junior Jedi Youngling

    Registered:
    Sep 22, 2004
    Yeah the trick I disribed above is possible in AE, these are basic operation on layer that are possible in both applications. AE is a kind of photoshop for video actually, it allow to do apply the same kind of filters on video footage
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.