Landing Strip WIP

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by joek1010, Sep 25, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. swimmerman91 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 22, 2005
    star 4
    your really good with this stuff!
  2. Neothehacker Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 25, 2004
    star 1
    I think the texture on the landing pads needs to be smaller coz it looks sorta fake.

    Also, you should put in a more realistic lighting setup, with shadows, and maybe the sun as well. To me, the x wing looks like a cardboard cutout (no offense)

    Hope that helped a little, as just a POV.
  3. joek1010 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2004
    star 1

    Yeah, I agree. It was okay with the previous perspective, but now it doesn't look very good. I'm actually in the midst of creating a UV mapped texture that should be a huge improvement.



    For lighting I'm using ambient occlusion, which I think makes some nice soft shadows. They're just a bit difficult to see (I think) because of the landing strip texture and the distance. I might experiment with harder textures.

    Thanks for the comments!


    Thanks!

  4. swimmerman91 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 22, 2005
    star 4
  5. joek1010 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2004
    star 1
    I'm really busy right now. Hopefully I'll have some after this weekend.

  6. swimmerman91 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 22, 2005
    star 4
  7. Macro_Roshuma Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Aug 27, 2004
    star 3
    you just inspired me to reinstall 3ds max again after my system redo.. /salute

    thank you sir!
  8. joek1010 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Feb 16, 2004
    star 1
    Updates.

    Added:
    UV Texture for lines on tarmac.
    Rocks added (are they too big?).
    Turret added to scene.
    Camera Adjusted.

    Full Render

    Closer View

    Lines (25% smaller than high-res)

    First things; the lines. This is the first UV texture I have ever made. Keeping that in mind, I definitely need to make it better. Any suggestions for that would be great. For the texture I used Photoshop to draw some lines, and then I just used the Displacement Filter to dirty them up.

    Quick photoshop question. Is it possible / how can I make a selection based on an image. Is it possible in Elements 2?

    Grainy-ness of the image: thats because Ambient Occlusion was set to only 5 samples. These renders are taking a very long time. I was originally planning on using this in an animation, but with render times in the hours for single frames, I really don't know if the whole thing can be included.


    Cool!

  9. swimmerman91 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 22, 2005
    star 4
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.