main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Lightsaber Test Movies (+ more!)

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by zimba, Oct 21, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. zimba

zimba Jedi Youngling star 1

Oct 9, 2003
    Howdy all,

This is clearly my first post on these boards, but not my first time here at all. I have been lurking around here for a long time, and just now needed to post! (That is how informative these boards are)

I am quite new to filmmaking, a true padawan, and are jsut now learning the basic with a amateur Sony Digital8 DCR-TRV210E video camcorder. The quality is adequate, turning towards bad. I am saving for a Canon (or any other camcorder) in the semi-pro area. I am looking for a price tag (used, cant afford new) at most 1000$. Is the GL1 that Ryan use(d) good? Can I get a good camcorder for that price used, if so, where is the best place? I am in Europe (Denmark).

I just recently did a film project with a couple of friends, not sure I will put it up here, as it has nothing to do with Star Wars really, it was a school project. But we did have a lightsaber battle in there, for the parody, and it was my first time doing it (ergo --> many errors), and I have learned a lot! I want to improve my techiques, by experimenting with some test movies, and I remember some boards that had links to some Episode 1/2 test movies, where you could roto the sabers on to, if anyone could point me to the movies, I'd be thrilled!

Another thing, can anyone poitn me to a good cloning tutorial, I have seen one or two, but I want to know the alternatives :)

I am sure that I have more to ask about, in that case I will either edit my post, or make a reply.

EDIT1: Oh, what is the best codec, and settings to use when importing and exporting DV? I always end up with either too high or too low filesizes.

Thank you for a wonderful place to hang out!

2. zimba

Oct 9, 2003