main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Making a hat out of light...A Christmas Carol film costuming

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by Jaren_Valnor, Sep 1, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Jaren_Valnor

Jaren_Valnor Jedi Master star 2

Sep 19, 2004
    I'm an indie filmmaker working on a modern day version of the Christmas Carol story. Although I've tweaked the baseline story, I'm trying to keep the depictions of the ghosts loyal to Dickens's description. Most filmmakers do this fairly well, but they take their liberties with the Ghost of Christmas Past. Here is Dickens's description:

This is the part most people miss. At the link I've posted at the end of this post, you can see the full two or so pages of description and also a picture from a 1978 animated version that got most of it right. I'm wondering how to accomplish the light on his head in a live action costume without any type of computer effect if possible. Also, we will have access to electrical outlets at all filming sites, and the character will have a long white wig, so use of electrical wires well-concealed won't be an obstacle. Any ideas at all?

http://www.cedmagic.com/featured/christmas-carol/1978-toon-past.html

2. Koohii

Koohii Jedi Master star 5

May 30, 2003
    Well, you could sculpt a 2-piece mold (crystal shaped outside, head shaped inside, and then use an epoxy AB mix. From there, use a drill with a router bit and dremmel to carve out the area for the light bulb in the center, and maybe a groove for the power cable. Then glue a layer of insulation and the hair/wig underneath that.
    Take a lesson from Mark Stricson (Turlough) from Doctor Who with the electric wires and glowing crystal. ;)

3. Jaren_Valnor

Sep 19, 2004