main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Making a scene

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Lori_of_Cincinnati, Oct 6, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lori_of_Cincinnati

Lori_of_Cincinnati Jedi Youngling

Aug 5, 2005
    I've been beta-reading fan fiction for a couple of months now. I've noticed that writers tend to forget about scene and setting elements, and that includes details about characters' clothing and appearance. Scene/setting/clothing snippets can really bring out the personalities of your characters and move the plot forward.
    For instance, I beta-read a piece that took place in Padme's apartment. What do the things in her home say about her personality? In the movie, there were many glass objets d'art, and they seemed fragile. A writer could get a reader to believe that these items were symbolic of her character. At the same time, a writer could say that she had a few wrought-iron pieces in her home, suggesting strength of character. This is totally up to the writer. And that's the beauty of it.
    Now, on to Anakin. His clothing is much darker in color than that of the other Jedi. Again, this could be used to foreshadow his behavior later in the movie. He also had the most glorious head of hair of any man in the movie. Did he use product? Was he vain? Did Padme tell him how beautiful his hair was? If a writer decided to make it so, he could contrast those things against Obi-Wan, Anakin's foil.