Maya sabers

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by Lightsaber_Style8675, Jan 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2003
    star 3
    Hi. Very sorry if this has already been asked... I am demoing maya and am wondering if lightsaber blade/glow is possible. Can anyone point to a tutorial? I want to see if 3d sabers look better. thanks in advance...
  2. darthviper107 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2003
    star 4
    Well. I don't have Maya, but in Max which is very similar, I just made a blue or whatever glow and then a smaller white glow, and applied them to a cylinder, but most of the time a rotoscoped saber will look better, either done in AE or Photoshop.
  3. Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2003
    star 3
    Well,

    I know how to do sabers in AE... i just want 3d sabers if possible. Anyone know how?
  4. Lots Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2001
    star 4
    like a previous post said.. most of the time saber glows look much better done in AE or photoshop...

    but here's my attempt at a laser in lightwave.. which could probably be applied to lightsabers.. which basically uses the same idea the previous post did :p center core with a white glow and an outer shell with a colored glow..

    [image=http://www.whisperingstatues.com/alf/laserbolt.jpg]

    but an AE/PS saber glow looks much better :p
  5. Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2003
    star 3
    Hmmm ya the glows in AE are definatley better than that... any way to make the core 3D and round in maya, then add the glow in AE?
  6. foxbatkllr Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2001
    star 6
    Well if you make an all white, 100% luminosity core, you should be able to use the renders with the alpha channel to make the glow in AE...I'm not sure though, never tried it.
  7. djr33 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 5, 2003
    star 4
    if ILM cant do it, then i doubt anyone else can...

    they tried for yoda... just didnt look right...

    good luck tho...
  8. Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2003
    star 3
    What did they do the rest of the sabers with? looked 3d to me
  9. malducin Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2001
    star 4
    sabers in the Star Wars films have almost never been 3D (except for the revolving skotchlite ones ;-). Why would you make them 3D anyway. Matchmoving that would be tediuos at best. 2D is the best way to do it, via rotoscoping. Maya is best suited for other stuff.
  10. Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2003
    star 3
    :( o well. I had heard that the SW sabers were 3D and motion tracked... guess i was wrong... Anywho thanks for the help guys
  11. Lots Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2001
    star 4
    well if you've got a 3d character or something using a saber (which is also 3d) the easiest thing to do to roto a saber is to get an alpha channel of just the blade and then do the usual rotoing in ps or ae.. (meaning all you need to do at that point is blurr it and add the color...
  12. foxbatkllr Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2001
    star 6
    Heh, that was my idea.
  13. Lots Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2001
    star 4
    i know :) was clearifying :p
  14. foxbatkllr Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 2001
    star 6
    No you weren't! You stole it!

    Thief!!!

    Thiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeef!!!!!












    8-}
  15. Lots Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2001
    star 4
    I'm going to kill you.
















    NO i was kidding :)
  16. ckyuk Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jan 11, 2004
    I just use a primitive cylinder and add a lambert with these settings:

    Colour: H: 240
    S: 0.1
    V: 1

    Ambient Colour: H: 240
    S: 1
    V: 1

    Then open the special effects tab and turn glow up to around 1.5

    [image=http://www.basicanime.btinternet.co.uk/sabercopy.JPG]
  17. Lightsaber_Style8675 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    May 1, 2003
    star 3
    wow. that looks nice! It was done in Maya?
  18. djTomServo Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Dec 29, 2003
    I was going to suggest using the glow setting in a material as well. Works great for blaster bolts and engines too.
  19. Lots Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2001
    star 4
    the question is does that blur right?
  20. djTomServo Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Dec 29, 2003
    You can get it to blur pretty nicely actually if you use the 3d Motion Blur. I'm not sure how realistic it is to do that, I'm doing test renders on a dual proc machine and it's not bad, about a frame a second, but if you have a slower machine, who knows? 2D motion blur takes a little more tweaking to get it right, so if you have the cycles to burn, i'd go with the 3D. I would guess regardless tho it would be much cooler to tweak your render settings and then just go ahead and let it render overnight instead of sitting there and rotoing every frame. . .especially for a longer sequence. Here's an example:

    [image=http://www.qdoq.com/~osado/saberTest.jpg]
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.