main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Before - Legends Moon and Blood (Shmi, one-post)

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction- Before, Saga, and Beyond' started by Lady_Moonbeam, Sep 13, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lady_Moonbeam

Lady_Moonbeam Jedi Youngling star 3

Aug 4, 2002
    Title: Moon and Blood

Summary: Shmi, in the nine months before Anakin, on love, loss, and being surrounded by things she can't understand.

Note: I've never written a single Shmi story before, ever, and this is different in tone and structure than my usual, so feel free to tell me if you hated it. But love is better, so if you really feel that way, don't hesitate. :D

------------------------------

The days are crisp and the nights are young.

Shmi had taken lovers before. Slaves never went long without some form of comfort, even when it was only vague couplings in the dark, not concentrating on the floor beneath her or the ceiling above her or even the man she was with, just thinking strange, disconnected thoughts of moon and rain and sunlight?stars and earth and sea. Things you never saw in the closed steel of the slave pen on the ship. Stranded with so many others, she didn?t yearn for touch so much as she did for openness, and one was not a substitute for another, but it seemed that she could take what she wanted and imagine, for one brief, blissful moment, the sight of the sky and the fresh, sweet smell of grass.

But she had not taken a lover recently.

Recently, she had been alone and slept alone. Master Naton was gracious?he had given her home and food and bed in exchange for relatively little work, and Shmi didn?t want him to feel ashamed of her. Didn?t want him to find her sharing that soft bed with anyone. He had been good to her, kind where other owners were cruel. For his kindness, she gave him her respect, but not her love.