need some help.......print image resolution

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by ian_foster, Aug 25, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. ian_foster Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 10, 2002
    star 2
    Hi Gang,
    Long time no appearance from me.

    No, I've not been lying injured in a ditch somewhere, just been mage busy/tired from my new job and haven't done any home based work for a LONG time.

    Anyway, short story shorter, I've got a job interview soon for a sweet 3D position ;)
    :Architectural Visualisation Specialist

    Nice eh?

    Anyway, one of the requisites for the interview is to bring along a still image of a building I've done in A4 300dpi.

    Now, I've never done print images before, so what do I need to render out in MAX and save it as, etc? to get an A4 sized 300dpi image?

    I usually just save high res images as TGA's, TIFF's or whatever...

    HELP!!!
  2. Jedi2016 Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2000
    star 4
    Just figure out how big A4 paper is on each side, in inches, then multiply it by 300.
  3. Crunchy Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2000
    star 4
    I never really understood how to change dpi... :(

    I hope you get the new job, would be less of a stress on you ;)
  4. malducin Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 23, 2001
    star 4
    This is from Photoshop: A4 is 219 x 297 mm. or 8.268 x 11.693 in or 2480 x 3508 pixels at 300dpi.
  5. Darth_Steven Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2002
    star 2
    Here is the deal...your resolution that you will get automatically defaults to screen image which is 72 dpi. So in order to get the resolution you are looking for you want to see how many times 72 goes into 300....that would be 4.16

    Multiply your paper sizes (2480 x 3508) each by 4.16 and you'll see what you have to render the final image out as from Max.

    I've done the math for you and all you have to do is render the image 10317 x 14593.

    the image will be huge but it is a perfect A4 300dpi image ready for print. The only thing you'll need to do is take it into Photoshop and change it from RGB mode to a printable colout mode of CMYK...to do that just go to image....mode and then CMYK and save the image. DONE. Hope this helps. You can trust me on this one I've had to print images out of Max hundreds of times, and if you are printing this for a professional they will see the difference.


    Steve
  6. PapaFett Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 16, 2002
    star 2
    No, No, No

    Just render it out @ 2480 x 3508 and when you open it in PS got to Image>Image Size and type 300 in the dpi box where it says 72. Then go up to the top of that window and type 2480 in the width box (set on pixels) and 3508 in the height box (also set to pixels. Takes a few seconds.

    2480/300 = 8.268"

    3508/300 = 11.693"

    A4 sheets are 8.268" x 11.693"
  7. Darth_Steven Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2002
    star 2
    yes that way can be done, but all you are doing is stretching a 72dpi document out to 300 dpi and decreasing the dot structure of your print.

    Later
    Steve
  8. PapaFett Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 16, 2002
    star 2
    It's just a setting 2000 pixels is 2000 pixels... it's just about telling the printer to how to print it.
  9. PapaFett Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 16, 2002
    star 2
    I had to print some postcard adverts a few months ago with a render from XSI... the client wanted 600dpi... a 4" x 6" post card required a 2400 X 3600 render and I used the method above... worked perfectly.
  10. PadawanNick Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 6, 2001
    star 4
    Dart_Steven, you have the concept mostly right, just entered the wrong numbers into your math, that's all.

    You need to enter the 72dpi resolutions into your multiplication and work from there. So multiply 595x841 by 4.16, to upscale to 300dpi. :)

    If he rendered 10317 x 14593 and reduced to 11.7" x 8.26", he'd be rendering at over 1200 dpi!

    PapaFett's got it.
    Just render at that resolution and use photoshop to print to your A4 sheet.
    Good luck!!!

    Have fun.
  11. Darth_Steven Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2002
    star 2
    OOooops! Sorry PapaFett, it didn't clue into me that math had already been calculated I thought that was the image size at 72dpi, didn't realize that someone already calculated it up from an original size.

    I'll read more carefully next time, sorry.
    Don't forget to change it to CMYK though! ;)

    Later
    Steve
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.