1. Welcome, Guest

    Upcoming events: Supanova: Melbourne (10th-12th April), Gold Coast (17th-19th April)

    Oz Comic Con: Perth (11th-12 April), Adelaide (18th-19th April)

FF:WA Need stuff, advice, and/or general help

Discussion in 'Oceania Discussion Boards' started by FaLLeN-AnGeL, Feb 14, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Aztek Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2001
    star 4
    I've got an all new problem, yay.

    I've just formatted a computer from the local school (used to have win98 on it) and I'm trying to install XP. The problem is the computer does not seem to recognise the cd drive and I can't get into a Bios screen to play with it.

    Any ideas anyone ?
  2. Stinky_jawa Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2000
    star 4
    hm, winxp boot (floppy) disks? (Im not sure, never tried, does winxp install from a dos os? If so, use a dos floppy boot disk)

    Are you sure it wont get into the bios?
  3. Aztek Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 12, 2001
    star 4
    I've tried everything that I thought might have accessed the bios (pressing del, f1, escape) while starting up.

    It does not actually say anything about the bios while it boots up though.
  4. Kartanym Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2002
    star 6
    As far as I know, XP isn't Dos based, so that idea may not work. Try using another CD drive perhaps?
  5. soneil Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 4
    Might help to check the motherboard to see what the manufacturer and model is, then go to the manufacturer's website. That has a few benefits. Firstly, you might be able to find out anything you need to know about the bios. Also you can get any drivers you might need.
    As for boot discs, presumably it's set up so you can boot from floppys (this can be disabled in the bios but usually isn't)? A quick web search should turn up a few websites that provide boot floppies for various purposes. Should be able to download the files to make a boot floppy that at least takes you to a command prompt with CD drivers, Then you should be able to get to your install CD's setup. I have an older machine with win98SE on it so I could send you a boot floppy with CDROM drivers if you need one.
  6. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    Does anyone know what the controls for a PS2 would relate to on a PC keyboard? The control I am specifically after is the L1 button, but it'd be good to know where I can find all of them if I need others converted.

    Either that or can you point me in the direction of an official (as in not cheating) game guide for the pc, because the one I have found on Gamespot (which you need to be registed for to see) only seems to have the PS2 controls, even though I am in the PC section.

    I am trying to find out how to give a girl flowers @};-, because that tip doesn't come up when you pick them up and that key is what I need to actually hand them over and I can't progress [face_love] with her without it.
  7. Stinky_jawa Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2000
    star 4
    buh?

    Running an emulator - you can configure the controls.

    If you plugged a keyboard into a ps2, no idea (I know they have usb, but doe it work with any keyboard?) just mash the keyboard until you find it
  8. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    We have the PC version of the game, and I am using a keyboard on the PC (we don't own a PS2). But the user guide I found is written for the PS2, so the controls are munted for it. It is telling me to hit a key that doesn't exist on the keyboard.
  9. soneil Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 4
    I often find the guides on Gamefaq.com are better and they seem to cater to PC gamers a bit better. No registration needed either.
  10. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    My disc for Paint Shop Pro 8 with Animation Shop is scratched to all hell and refuses to be read. I am unable to find the same version available for trial download and the one version I did download doesn't come with Animation Shop (which I use just as frequently as PSP).

    I've heard that the latest version of PSP sucks since Corel took over Jasc and I don't want to waste my time downloading an inferior program if it doesn't live up to the earlier versions. So I'm wondering if any of you out there have used any version above 8, was it better or worse than 8, and does it come with Animation Shop?

    It has to be available for trial download because I have no money to buy the software yet, but I really need to get PSP back on my machine (I shouldn't have uninstalled it without checking the damn disc!)
  11. Stinky_jawa Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 7, 2000
    star 4
    I have psp 8 (anim shop 3 I believe) demo somewhere around here. Handy program, you can import photoshop filters into it.

    Although I think I'd still rather use photoshop itself..
  12. soneil Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 4
    Photoshop also comes with Image Ready which is good for animated GIFs. Not sure if that's the kind of animation you're after though.
  13. SithLord-Mixo Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 21, 2002
    star 5
    You can do simple animations extremely fast with Image Ready.
  14. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    I always used to use Photoshop, but then version 5 came out and I found that they changed too much. Also around that time one of the courses I was doing used PaintShop and I found that it had everything I loved about Photoshop and was still easy to use. They should never mess with the programs.
  15. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    While I think of it, has anyone seen Worms 4: Mayhem floating around to buy for the PC anywhere? We went into an EB store the other day and they had just sold out of it and weren't getting any more in. Has this game been out for longer than I realise? We've got the demo and it rocks and I want to kick Soup's butt playing more than one level over and over again. I also really wanna make a punk team and see what other things I can change.
  16. SithLord-Mixo Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 21, 2002
    star 5
    I have seen it floating around in some capacity. I have not gamed for ages :(
  17. soneil Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 4
    I didn't know they had a worms 3? I got the first 2 (and thought the 1st one was the better of the 2)
  18. Kartanym Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2002
    star 6
    I'll go into EB after work and see if they have it there. I think I remember seeing it last time.

    There's been a number of Worms games lately. The last two, including Worms 4, were the first of them in full 3D. I prefer Worms World Party myself :p
  19. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    I haven't played World Party yet. I don't even know where the demo of Mayhem came from, but it rocks. What's World Party like? Any ideas where I can grab a demo from?

    EDIT: Nevermind, I found a demo of World Party, now I just have to download it...
  20. Kartanym Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 23, 2002
    star 6
    World Party is good. haven't had much of a chance to play it though. Very good play options, probably the best (and last) of the 2D worms generation.
  21. soneil Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 4
    I think the main reason I like the first one best is because I don't really like the cutesy style of graphics they went to after that.
  22. SithLord-Mixo Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 21, 2002
    star 5
    World Party is great fun. Awesome super weapons lol I love Concrete Donkey.
  23. FaLLeN-AnGeL Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Dec 3, 2001
    star 4
    Does anyone use any of the all-in-one messenger programs that are out there? I used to use Trillian, but didn't like the fact that I was losing certain capabilities the other programs offered (I used it years ago, I have no idea what it's like now), then I stopped using more than one messenger program so decided it wasn't worth having an all-in-one program. Now I'm back to the possibility of using more than one IM program so I'm attempting to find out what inter-operable messenger programs there are around. Do you use any? Give me your reviews, or just pros and cons of the program you use.
  24. Grizzly Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 22, 2000
    star 4
    Anyone running XP x64 edition?
    I'm chasing a decent DVD player. For some reason, even though x64 runs 32 bit programs it chucks a wobbly with decoders.
  25. soneil Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 30, 2000
    star 4
    I use trillian and it does all I want. Not sure what's changed in the past few years in it but give it another go. I'm not sure what others are available.

    And Griz - my advice on XP64 is to ditch it. I've been published a couple of times recently in APCmag talking about it. I had so many problems getting things to work in it that I went back to XP pro. X64's really just a beta for Vista I suspect so I'm holding out for that before upgrading again.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.