main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Neszis' Top Ten Ways to Make Your Fanfilm Look Professional (for those on a budget)

Discussion in 'Fan Films, Fan Audio & SciFi 3D' started by Neszis, Aug 16, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Neszis

Neszis Jedi Padawan star 4

May 23, 2001
    Now, I'm no professional, but someone asked me a question about how to make their fanfilm look professional. It seems the topic is has been coming up a lot recently, so I wrote up what I knew. Here you go!

Actually, it was a year ago, so I actually didn't get my movie to stop looking like a home movie, but Ive learned a LOT since then. I used a VHS-C POS camera :).

Here are some hints that have worked WONDERFULLY for me.

1. Have a MiniDV camera. The higher quality makes it much better.
    2. If you need to, make a checklist of things to make sure to do before taking a shot. Compose your shot well.
    3. Take off auto focus. Just dont forget to focus every time.
    4. Take off auto exposure, and any ProgramAE (AutoExposure) controls you may have. Do exposure manually, and set it a little darker than normal. This gives it a nice "Lord of the Rings" look where the shadows and light have clearly defined edges...I LOVE this look.
    5. White balance is a difficult topic, but you must do it well. If you dont have a manual white balance, make sure to set up your auto or programmed white balances PERFECTLY. Sometimes I like to leave it on the tungsten light neutralizer (AKA Indoors setting) to give it a bluish tint. It also looks kind of cool. But be careful how you try to use it creatively. If you do something on purpose for an effect and it doesnt come out right, it will look ameteur rather than cool.
    6. Widescreen. Make sure you have a true 16:9 ratio on your camera as opposed to simply putting the bars on.