main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Noob questions...

Discussion in 'Archive: Scifi 3D Forum' started by mpzork, Jun 10, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. mpzork

mpzork Jedi Youngling

Apr 11, 2004
    Hi,
    I'm new to the 3d modeling but I want to learn. What is the best way to start? I downloaded Blender, do you think that's a good way to start learning how to model and animate? I'm not shure what to move onto after that. Is lightwave the best modeling program out their? What is the differece b/w all the different formats. Please be nice, you all were once new this as well.
    Thanks

2. djr33

djr33 Jedi Master star 4

Apr 5, 2003
    personally, i use bryce... but thats not what you would wanna get into if you are really serious, i just use that for fun some.

blender is great to get started, but you will probably want to upgrade at some point...
    i say use that to be sure that this is the field/hobby you wanna get into and then you can upgrade to something...

the "best" is between 3ds max and lightwave, both have their advantages, but max is more widely supported here with models and users.
    a close 3rd is maya, but thats more for professionals and much more expensive. it may be a "better" program, but it is definately not what you wanna start with just for fun, too much of an investment.

anyway, welcome and good luck :)

3. Lots

Lots Jedi Padawan star 4

Dec 7, 2001