[NOT KOTOR RELATED] Quick Question!!!

Discussion in 'Games' started by General_BlackLegion, Feb 26, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
    Do you know to fix Jedi Academy skins. I got this cool skin off the internet but the problem is the gesture of the skin's hand holding the lightsaber is not good so, I want to change it so it can be better looking. Any ideas where to start? (See not KotOR related and there is not a Jedi Academy modding thing)
  2. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Jedi Academy skinning is basically the same as Jedi Outcast skinning.

    Tutorial
  3. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
  4. The_Chim Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 16, 2001
    star 6
    You're good.

    And yes he is.




    I thought there was a tutorial for JA skinning here in Games? Oh well, I guess the one for JO will work.
    jp wins again.
  5. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
    God this is killing me. I unpacked the player files and the skin I need to fix using Pakscape but when I went in to ModView 2.5, to open it says that the skins model's mesh file is not there so, I went in to theplayer models in the game and when I open a gla, it says ModView can't not open it despite valid, so now I am stuck can open the models! AHHHHHHHH HELLPPPPPP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    PS: If you can help me here is the file you can download:

    Here.

    Ironically enough, the skin is really Bastila, funny that everyone around the forums are mad at the KotOR situation. Also, if you select her to use a single balede lightsaber, you can see that her right hand is not really holding the saber and there is some body connection problems too but so that is why I need to fix it.
  6. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Sounds like it's a model mesh problem - something skinning will not fix.

    I'm downloading it myself to take a look, but any chance you can post a screenshot showing the problem you're encountering?
  7. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
    Yes it is the model mesh problem (Duh myself!), ummm... I will try to get one since i am on a laptop right now and not near my computer that has JA installed. Like I said, I will try to get you a shot or shots.

    jp, here are the shots

    Saber is not in one of the hands and not firmly gripped (fast)
    same as above but different stance (medium)
    same as above but different stance (strong)
    saber not gripped firmly (double-bladed saber)
    sabers not firmly gripped (dual sabers)
    you can decide if they are ok
    it kind of hard to see but it is not well connected

    Thanks so much, hope the links work.
  8. jp-30 Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2000
    star 9
    Yeah, that's a mesh & skeleton problem. Something I know nothing about, except that it's very difficult to fix and requires some specialist software like 3D Studio Max.
  9. General_BlackLegion Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 14, 2004
    star 5
    Darn oh well, thanks anyway, I will try to to find something... Anyway, just for fun i am doing your tutorial. I transferred the players folder out using Pakscape and when I select Prisoner to get the model, the same problem occurs of not finding a certain file like th e .gla. Help? Come on it got to work!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.