Story [Once Upon a Time] "who never had to howl" Red/Gaston, October Theme Challenge

Discussion in 'Non Star Wars Fan Fiction' started by Mira_Jade, Oct 31, 2012.

Moderators: Mira_Jade, NYCitygurl
  1. Mira_Jade The NSWFF Manager With The Cape

Manager
    star 4
    who never had to howl”

Genre
    : Drama, Fantasy
    Rating: PG
    Time Frame: 1x12 missing scene, Speculation
    Characters: Ruby | Red Riding Hood, Sir Gaston, Grumpy,

Summary: He had never hunted a day in his life, that much she was certain of. But, here he was, with his soft hands and determined eyes, trying to find his way into the Dark One's lands . . . Gaston hunts. Red gives him a path.

Notes: For the October Theme Challenge, 'In a Restaurant'. I wanted to give myself the extra challenge of writing for characters I have never written before, in a scene that is more of a 'what-if' than anything else. It's just a oneshot for now, but it has given me ideas, so it may be picked up again in the future. :)

Disclaimer: Nothing is mine, but for the words.

“who never had to howl”
    by Mira_Jade

She could smell the desperation on him when he entered the tavern. It followed him like a cloak, a cloudy scent that was add odds with the burst of crisp autumn air that accompanied him from the open door. It had been enough to make her look up, her hands curling, her nostrils flaring as she inhaled. Desperation was never a pleasant scent, it was swampish, like yellow smoke and just as acidic, making her eyes burn. Exhaling, clearing her senses, she looked past her work to the man who had just entered. And she stood, curious now as anything else, when she did not see an old farmer just returned from the market or any of the miners who worked and lived in this town. He was not even a wanderer, passing through, or one of the woodsman who were always peppering the countryside.