OT: How do you model a Car?

Discussion in 'Scifi 3D Forum' started by Shoveler, Sep 2, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Shoveler Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2001
    star 2
    Hey all,

    I've been fiddling around with Max for a few years now, I have Max R3, but I've never really gotten into it.

    I'm hoping to try and model a car. I've searched for tutorials and explanations but haven't found any for the 'simple' user like me :p

    Can anybody help?

    Thanks guys!

    Shoveler
  2. Jedi2016 Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jun 3, 2000
    star 4
    Simple user? Car? Don't mix. There are tutorials out there for cars.. if you can't do them, then you'll just have to get your skills up to the point where you can. There is no such thing as a simple car model.
  3. sqerl Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2002
    star 1
    next time use google.

    I agree with the last post. Modeling a car is not easy for a beginner. It requires you to understand MAX at an intermediate level. There are many free resources out there to get you to that point. But here are the links to some tuts once you are more familiar with Max:

    http://www.3dm-mc.com/tutorials/car/
    or
    http://www.munkmotion.com/tutorials/nsx/1a.htm
    or
    http://www.3dm-mc.com/tutorials/car2/
    or
    http://www.3dluvr.com/content/article/76
  4. Darth_Steven Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 14, 2002
    star 2
    Once again, I agree with the guys above...you should also try looking in the Tutorials thread in here as it is a great way of finding the tutorials you are looking for. If you find the tutorial you want remember to be kind and leave a link for it in the tutorial thread so others don't ask the same question over and over again. ;)

    Later
    Steve
  5. George Mezori SCIFI 3D Scifi 3D Forum

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 10, 1999
    star 4
    Don't add links to specific tutorials.. cars, mapping, etc. Just links to places that have tutorials. Like the two or three that were put here... add those root links to the sticky thread.
  6. Shoveler Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2001
    star 2
    Hey all,

    The problem I'm having right now is getting the blueprint images into the viewports. If I understand correctly you're supposed to use the images as maps and apply them to patch grids. Is this correct?

    Then position them accordingly so that you may begin modelling. Can anybody help me with the first step? :D


    Shoveler
  7. Shoveler Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Mar 8, 2001
    star 2
    Bump. Desperately need help.

    Thanks
    Shoveler
  8. Olen_Garn Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jun 16, 2002
    star 1
    The manual is always a good place to look for somthing as simple as this.

    -Olen
  9. Iyidin_Kyeimo Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Sep 21, 2000
    star 3
    [link=http://www.suurland.com]Suurland.com[/link] / Tutorials / Blueprints setup...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.