TOR Pie-in-the-Sky Future Features Brainstorming

Discussion in 'Games' started by Yeade, Dec 7, 2011.

Moderators: MarcusP2, The2ndQuest
  1. Yeade Jedi Master

star 1
    With the official forums about to undergo a pre-launch wipe and be locked thereafter to game subscribers only, among whom I won't be counted in the foreseeable future due to real life constraints, I've decided to copy-and-paste a series of posts I made on the suggestions board there to TFN. For posterity, not my own vanity, of course! :p

As everyone can tell by my current grand total of one post, I'm a newbie to the forums. In fact, I have exactly zero experience playing MMORPGs and KOTOR about five years ago is the sum of my gaming in all other genres. Tetris, Minesweeper, and Solitaire aside, lol. It's doubtful I can even afford SWTOR in my (unemployed!) financial state...

That said, I love SW to mushy bits and am quite excited about the game's potential. I've lurked on these boards before and truly enjoyed the extended discussions about how guild capital ships might be implemented in SWTOR, so I thought I'd try my hand at presenting a couple features of similar scale that are on my wishlist.

Of course, given my unfamiliarity with MMORPGs, everything below could be hogwash. I mean, I can hardly comprehend what you guys here are on about when game mechanics are the topic. I'm curious what those possessing greater knowledge than myself have to say, anyways. [face_blush]

Warning: HUGE wall of text incoming! No, really!

Huttball Tournaments

While I see great promise in Huttball as an in-game sport, I also feel any tournaments ought to be structured to encourage dedicated professionalism and competitive achievement, even if this means all but the best players are barred from participating. Sports, by nature, are exclusive events at higher levels, IMO, and I'd like Huttball tournaments to have the same flavor.

Here's my proposal: