main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Story [Pirates of the Caribbean] "Father and Son" (One-shot)

Discussion in 'Non Star Wars Fan Fiction' started by Quigonjecca, Sep 11, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Quigonjecca

Quigonjecca Jedi Youngling star 3

Jul 2, 2007
    Title: Father and Son (I know, not the best title. I'm title-impaired.)
    Genre: One-Shot
    Time Frame: 2 years after AWE
    Characters: Will Turner, "Bootstrap Bill" Turner
    Note: It's a bunny that bit, and I decided to write it. This is my first attempt at POTC fanfic, or any fanfic at all apart from Star Wars. Please let me know what you think!

Wind blew softly through the sails of [i]The Flying Dutchman.[/i] No gulls flew overhead; no fish suddenly leaped from the water. In fact, save for the soft lapping of languid waves against the ship?s wooden hull, there was no sound at all.

Silence.

Bootstrap sighed, running a hand through his stringy hair. Silence was a sound he was becoming all too accustomed to. When he had decided to accompany his son on his journey to the Netherworld, he had not expected to be met with a silent wall.

Grant you, Will did speak. When prompted he joked and laughed; at the correct moments he smiled. But none of the liveliness ever quite reached his eyes. The light seemed to fade into a much darker burden that stretched through his shoulders, making them droop, and reached his feet, causing them to drag a bit along the deck.

Even now, he stood at the wheel, eyes unfocused, and hands sitting still on the wood. He wasn?t moving; he didn?t even appear to be breathing. However, Will?s mouth was moving, as in a silent prayer, murmuring words that Bootstrap couldn?t understand, and wasn?t sure he really wanted to.

?You know,? Bootstrap said, finally rising from his vantage point. ?You used to talk a lot more.?