Post technical questions and issues here.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Grimby, Sep 2, 2012.

  1. yankee8255 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 31, 2005
    star 6
  2. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Anyone else seeing a lot of slowness and having trouble with posts going through?
  3. PCCViking Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jun 12, 2014
    star 9
    I am. Sometimes, threads take a long time to open.
  4. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Thanks. I've sent an email to Philip and Grahame. Wasn't sure if it was just me..
  5. TCF-1138 Porg of New Films & Fan Films

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Sep 20, 2002
    star 5
    It's incredibly slow right now, and has been for at least an hour.
  6. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    It seems to come and go for me. My last post above went through fine.
  7. Chyntuck Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2014
    star 5
    I've had problems with posts going through at this time of day for the past week or so. It may be just an impression, but it tends to affect longer threads.
  8. WarmNyota_SweetAyesha Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 31, 2004
    star 7
    For me it's sporadic as well, the times when the boards slow down or I get a Page cannot be Displayed" message. Couple times this week it was in the early evening Eastern Time in the U.S. like around 6:00 P.M. If it happens any other time, it's like mid-afternoon. Does not last more than 15 minutes, certainly not over half an hour.
  9. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Grahame has done some rebooting and is doing some Linux updating. Hopefully that will help things.
    Sarge and WarmNyota_SweetAyesha like this.
  10. Strange Unusual Plant Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2017
    star 1
    I have been having this problem consistently in various threads. I post, but nothing happens. I reload the page, but nothing's there, so I decide to just post it again. When I come back later, I have two posts. This is a sock, but it has happened once or twice on my main account too.
    Edit: No problem with this post.
    Last edited by Strange Unusual Plant, Oct 27, 2017
  11. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    You can use the Report function on the double posts - one of the mods can then clean up.
  12. Strange Unusual Plant Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Oct 18, 2017
    star 1
    Oh, thanks - I didn't really know you could use it for that, I thought it was inappropriate posts.
  13. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    It is but other users have been using it for double/triple posts as well.
  14. pronker Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 28, 2007
    star 4
    Lame question alert: So the main objection to restarting a long thread, such as Wrestling, and making load time faster is that posting history is lost, for some posters as much as years' worth of input?:confused:
  15. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    The posting history isn't lost - the thread would be locked, not deleted. Forum mods already do this when some of the social threads reach a certain length - I think SW Community locks at 20K or so and a new thread is started.
    Bardan_Jusik and pronker like this.
  16. pronker Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 28, 2007
    star 4
    And the objection, then, is that it's jarring to look up stuff on the older thread, or folks may lose interest and wander off if a thread ends ... ?
  17. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Yeah - finding stuff on the older thread would be the issue. However, whoever starts the new one could put a link to the old one in the first post. However, we usually leave decisions on things like starting new threads on something up to the forum mods.
    pronker likes this.
  18. Grahame Server Admin

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2012
    star 1
    I hate artificial limits placed on thread length etc because it reeks of poor management/system design and resource allocation. The server we have should handle a forum of this size without any issue at all, it has plenty of ram (and the ram doesn't fill up), plenty of CPU (which does occasionally get high but not enough to cause problems) and all disk space is Solid State. That points to configuration as the issue here, either MySQL/Apache tuning or Xenforo itself. I've spent many hours tuning Apache and MySQL parameters trying to make the problem go away, and nothing really helps. Therefore I'm left to believe that the issue is Xenforo - it's a very old version, running on an old version of PHP. It needs to be replaced but with all of the customizations you guys have here that's not an easy task. I don't have an answer to the problem, I wish I did.
    EHT and pronker like this.
  19. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    It probably is down to Xenforo. However I remember us having to limit threads when we were on IGN's servers as well. If a thread got too long it just got 'weird' when trying to post to it. I think I rermember us restarting social threads in Collecting when they hit 5K.
    pronker likes this.
  20. Bardan_Jusik Mand'alor - Manager of EUC, SWC and Anthology

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Dec 14, 2009
    star 10
    Yeah the restarting of the social threads in SWC and EUC is partly due to tradition (a holdover from the IGN days) and because every now and again it's fun to reboot the social threads. :p
    PCCViking and pronker like this.
  21. Sith-I-5 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 14, 2002
    star 6
    Firefox 52 just warned me that the login / registration screen is not secured. Or rather, "not a secure connection."

    Is that normal?
    Last edited by Sith-I-5, Oct 28, 2017
  22. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Lucasfilm Ltd Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Was that the first time you've seen the message or did you just upgrade to version 52? I haven't seen anything but I'm running an older version of Firefox. Anyone else seeing anything similar in a different browser/version? I think if anything was amiss I'd have gotten warnings from Norton 360.
    Last edited by LAJ_FETT, Oct 28, 2017
  23. Sith-I-5 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Aug 14, 2002
    star 6
    I fired up my Firefox, and it started loading upgrades before launching.

    The error message identified itself as "Firefox 52", advised that the upgraded version would let you know, when you try to enter your login, if the page you are using, is not secure.

    I just used the boards.theforce.net url.
  24. Todd the Jedi Mod and Soliloquist of SWTV

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Oct 16, 2008
    star 6
    I've been getting that message for quite a while as well, across several versions of Firefox. I just ignore it.
  25. jcgoble3 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 7, 2010
    star 5
    @Sith-I-5 Firefox now issues that warning anytime you go to type a password into a non-HTTPS site (i.e. one with a URL starting with "http://" instead of "https://"), such as this site. There's no way to turn it off except to bug the server admin(s) until he/she/they set up HTTPS for that site. Paging @Grahame...