Post technical questions and issues here.

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Grimby, Sep 2, 2012.

Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. Valairy Scot Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 16, 2005
    star 5
    I turned compatibility ON because of a cut/paste and Java problems that I don't have with compatibiity off. And while I'm reasonably computer competent, I'm not sure how to set up side by side browsers...
  2. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    It's pretty easy, actually. You just download and install Firefox. Then when you want to use it online you just click the icon like you would any other program. I've been online using IE and Firefox in the same session. You can see a bunch of help topics on Firefox here. (I'm assuming you have admin control over the PC you are using. If it's a work/school PC you might not be able to do this.)
    Last edited by LAJ_FETT, Oct 13, 2012
  3. Darth Gangrenous Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2005
    star 10
    I got this a couple minutes ago using Firefox 16.0.1

    An exception occurred: Mysqli prepare error: MySQL server has gone away in /var/www/html/library/Zend/Db/Statement/Mysqli.php on line 77
    1. Zend_Db_Statement_Mysqli->_prepare() in Zend/Db/Statement.php at line 115
    2. Zend_Db_Statement->__construct() in Zend/Db/Adapter/Mysqli.php at line 381
    3. Zend_Db_Adapter_Mysqli->prepare() in Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php at line 478
    4. Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->query() in Zend/Db/Adapter/Abstract.php at line 825
    5. Zend_Db_Adapter_Abstract->fetchOne() in XenForo/Error.php at line 50
    6. XenForo_Error::unexpectedException() in XenForo/Application.php at line 295
    7. XenForo_Application::handleException()
  4. Todd the Jedi Mod and Sitcom Dad of SWTV - Vacationing and stuff

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Oct 16, 2008
    star 5
    Same here. I clicked my bookmark for the forums and that came up. Then I went to the main site and clicked the link there and it worked fine.
  5. HanSolo29 Manager Emeritus + Official Star Wars Artist

    Member Since:
    Apr 13, 2001
    star 6
    Not sure if this is related, but the boards were really hanging for me around that same timeframe. They wouldn't load and when they finally did, it showed that no members were online - it was the strangest thing.
  6. Darth Gangrenous Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Jun 1, 2005
    star 10
    They were really hanging for me too at that time. Firefox kept showing "connecting" at the top of the tab.
  7. Teegirloo Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    May 26, 2005
    star 6
    Same as DG Bro it took awhile to connect i'm also using Firefox
  8. Todd the Jedi Mod and Sitcom Dad of SWTV - Vacationing and stuff

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Oct 16, 2008
    star 5
    I also noticed after that Firefox was automatically updating from version 15.0.1 to 16.0.1. Not sure if that had anything to do with it, or if this happened to anyone else.
  9. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    I looked in the server error log but didn't see anything unusual around that timeframe.
  10. Barriss_Coffee Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jun 29, 2003
    star 6
    I love getting notifications that somebody quoted my post... three weeks ago.

    What does this system do, feel bad if you don't wake up to a new notification so it stockpiles a few for rainy days?
    Rainbow Knight Star likes this.
  11. Katya Jade Administrator Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2002
    star 7
  12. Rainbow Knight Star Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Apr 18, 2005
    star 5
    When I make a tag, I'm not sure what happens, but nobody gets them.

    Example: If I were going to tag Grimmy, I would do it this way

    @[Grimby]
    Is this correct?

    :)
    i
  13. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    It has to be the whole username. For Grimby, it would be @[Grimby the Hutt] (without the brackets).
  14. Rainbow Knight Star Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Apr 18, 2005
    star 5
    Is there a set limit to how many tags can be in a post?

    :)
  15. Ramza JC Head Admin and RPF Manager

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Jul 13, 2008
    star 7
    I think the upper limit is 10, due to the way the add-on is coded.
  16. harpua Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Mar 12, 2005
    star 8
    Search function isn't working.
  17. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    There were some error messages in the server log about the search process failing. I've emailed Grimby and Grahame to let them know.
  18. Everton Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 18, 2003
    star 10
    Probably connected, but I can't view my own (or anyone else's) recent posts.
  19. Grimby Technical Consultant

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    Apr 22, 2000
    star 7
    It's connected.
    Todd the Jedi likes this.
  20. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Looks like search is working again. The nasty error messages in the log have gone away as well.
  21. Rainbow Knight Star Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Apr 18, 2005
    star 5
    Nobody is getting alerts from tags from me.

    Also, every time I go to the homepage, I get a "Stop running this script?" message on my computer. It only happens on the homepage; no where else.
  22. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Can you post an example of how you are doing the alerts?

    Also - for the script issue - what browser/version are you using?
    Last edited by LAJ_FETT, Oct 20, 2012
  23. Rew Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Dec 22, 2008
    star 4
    Every day when I come to the main forum page for the first time, all the forums are collapsed and I have to manually expand the ones that I want access to. Is there a way to save which forums I want expanded and which collapsed so I don't have to do that every time I log in?

    I know I asked this about a month or so ago, and someone said you guys were working on it. Just wondering about an update?
  24. Rainbow Knight Star Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Apr 18, 2005
    star 5
    I use Internet Explorer 8 with a Windows XP computer.

    Tagging example:

    @JediFalcon
  25. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Rew - right now there isn't a way to do that. I think Grimby was looking for something but I know Darth Real Life has kept him busy lately. We've also had some issues here (search and memory problems) that have to take priority.

    Rainbow - not sure on the tagging. I know other people have had issues with it. However I've been getting alerts fine. As far as the script goes, it might just be something that doesn't play nicely with XP. I'm on Win 7 and haven't had any issues like that. The script might be related to the member display section on the right of the main page as that's the only place that occurs. One thing to check - if users are having a problem getting your alerts make sure they haven't turned off alerts for tagging. It's set in Alert Preferences under Settings in the user profile.
    Last edited by LAJ_FETT, Oct 20, 2012
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza