Info Practice Markup Codes!

Discussion in 'Welcome New Users' started by jasman, Dec 19, 2001.

Moderators: Skiara
  1. reuvas Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2010
    hey everyone I m newbie and wandering how to use this markup coodes?
  2. bundjakub23132 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 7, 2010
    star 1
    Let's see...

    Do these work?

    EDIT: Yes, they do
  3. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    [image=http://s589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/?action=view&current=webversion5DATD.jpg]

    Brink pic test :D
  4. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/webversion5DATD.jpg]

    why can I never get pictures to work??![face_frustrated]
  5. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/webversion5DATD.jpg]
    Okay, now it works, but it's squashed.....[face_thinking]


    How about...
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/lukelgforLJ.jpg]
  6. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    still squashed...hmmmm....[face_thinking]



    Let's see...

    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]

    Okay, got that...

    Now then...

    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg][image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg][image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg][image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]

  7. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    If you wonder why the two pics don't show up. There's an empty space within the URL in each MarkUpCode (MUC). :)
  8. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    Oh hello! :)

    Thanks for this, but...

    Okay, what's the URL and what's the mark-up code??

    Imagine, if you will, someone who has never picked up a mouse before in their life...;)
  9. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    Also, why does it show up as doubles in my preview, but not on the actual post?:confused:

    Do yuo mean the empty space after the % sign in the address? Because that's not there in the preview or visible when I post the address, so I can't remove it.
  10. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    What are MUCs? Please, follow this link. I think that explains it the easiest way.

    What is an URL? That's the internet adress. For TFN it would be: http://www.theforce.net

    :)

    Yep, I exactly mean that space. It's weird that you can't see it in the preview and not in the real post.

    Let me test something...


    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]


    Ok, I found the reason why there's an extra space and why the pics don't show up.

    If you write too much text in a row, without any breaks and spaces, the board coding adds a space. In your case it was put right within the URL and so the markup code couldn't show up correctly.

    The only difference between your post and mine is that I've added a space after each image markup code. That does the trick. :)
  11. Jedi Gunny Yahtzee Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    May 20, 2008
    star 8
  12. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    Okay, let me try...

    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/triallukehead.jpg]



    [face_dancing] Woo-Hoo![face_dancing]

    Thanks Skiara :D [face_peace]
  13. blank101 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2008
    star 2
    So theoretically...

    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/toplcopy.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/toprcopy-1.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/midlcopy.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/midrcopy.jpg]
    [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/lowlcopy.jpg] [image=http://i589.photobucket.com/albums/ss332/blank-101/web%20stuff/lowrcopy.jpg]


    Hmmm. a few seem a tinsy bit off [face_thinking]

    Plus, as I've just tried above, putting the image over three would make it clearer, wouldn't it?


    Skiara - Is it frowned upon to load up images like this? :confused:
  14. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    You mean to post pics in threads? It depends on where and what you want to post for what reason.

    Let's say, you want to post a pic you made yourself in six small pics in FanArt. Then I would say it's ok (although I would like to advice to ask the mod of FanArt first to be 100% sure).

    If you would like to post the six-pic pic in a social thread like the Welcome Newbie Party, it's ok, if you do it one time, but it would be preferred to post that pic as a single pic, because not all of us have fast internet connections (even these days).

    If you like to post many many pics, even different pics at a social thread, I would advice you to only post the important once because of the reason named above and because of the need of scrolling every time one wants to read the last post.

    You see, it's complicated. But to make it a bit more easier for you: One or two pic in a post every now and then is completely fine. For every other case, ask the mod of the board you want to post it first.

    I hope this helps. :)


    Edit: And of course, it's fine to post pics in this thread for training reasons. :)
  15. DanyKenobi340 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 15, 2009
    star 3
    don't mind me. I was sent here to practice my linking.
    ]http://www.warnervideo.com/talesfromthecryptdvd/card.html
  16. Jackrack Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 17, 2008
    star 3
    HAPPY ST. PATRICKS DAY EVERYONE!!!

    well I'm a little early......
  17. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    Dany, the one who sent you here, did the right thing. This is the place to test MUCs, so don't hesitate to work on your linking skills. :)
  18. JEDI-SOLO Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2002
    star 5
    I just want to know the steps to post a pic of myself from My Computer to a thread....
  19. Fallen-Hero ~ Helping Hand of WNU ~

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Sep 5, 2009
    star 4
    @ Jedi-Solo: First, you need to choose a hosting place. There are several out there that offer you the possibility. Photobucket, Imageshack, and Flickr are good examples of those places. Once you created your account on either of those 'hosts', you'll want to upload your picture(s) on the site and once uploaded you'll be provided a link for it. With that link you simply need to copy/paste it into your post as you would any other image found on google or somewhere else.

    Some boards do offer the possibility of uploading pictures, but I don't recall ever seeing that function on here. Hope this answered your question and feel free to ask if something doesn't make sense.
  20. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    That's a good explanation. :)

    Instead of just posting the link, you can also use the markup code for images. You can find a button called 'image' right above the message-box when you're typing a post or pm. :)

    Oh, and you're right about that this forum doesn't allow to upload pics, Fallen. :)
  21. Lady_Jedi93 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2010
    star 4

    Trying to post a link and hoping it works.
  22. Lady_Jedi93 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2010
    star 4
  23. Lady_Jedi93 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 11, 2010
    star 4
  24. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    Now it works in the way you want it, right? :)
  25. Todca_Muoak Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Jun 10, 2010
    star 1
Moderators: Skiara