Info Practice Markup Codes!

Discussion in 'Welcome New Users' started by jasman, Dec 19, 2001.

Moderators: Skiara
  1. Admiral Volshe Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    star 8
    Spoiler box is

    [*spoiler] Like this [*/spoiler]

    You just take away the asterisk/star in the above code. :)

    ---

    Are you using a new version of firefox by any chance? There have been a few editing issues with the newest update.
    Ananta Chetan likes this.
  2. Ananta Chetan Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2013
    star 4
    Firefox- I have version...

    Show Spoiler
    23.0.1
    Show Spoiler




    Thanks AV! :)
    Last edited by Ananta Chetan, Sep 2, 2013
    Admiral Volshe likes this.
  3. Admiral Volshe Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    star 8
    You're welcome!

    Ok, your version of Firefox is the one that's having the issues! Our lovely JCF tech support crew is working on resolving the issue.
    Here is where you can see how it's going. Once they fix it I'm sure they'll post a message there. :)
    Last edited by Admiral Volshe, Sep 2, 2013
  4. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    @Ananta Chetan, that's not normal. You're using Firefox, right? It's a known error of Firefox, which has problems to read the forum software correctly at the moment - it used to work well until a few weeks ago. Until Firefox and/or forum software gets updated, you need to go through the 'more options' to be able to edit your post.

    Edit: I should have read the next page as well. So basically... What Volshe said. ;)
    Oh, and I was going to edit in the link Volshe give you above already.
    Last edited by Skiara, Sep 3, 2013
  5. Ananta Chetan Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2013
    star 4
    Greetings AV-

    Another question... Can one copy and paste an image into a post or does it have to be a URL? For example, if I have a picture on my computer, can I include that in a post? I pasted a photo into a post recently but when I posted it, it was not there... only the text.

    Sorry for the computer-geek questions... :p
  6. Falcon Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2002
    star 8
    If it's already on the internet yes. But if it's not uploaded yet then no. You will have to use a website that hosts images such as photobucket.com then you will be able to post your images.

    [IMG]

    copy and pasted from google images.
    Last edited by Falcon, Sep 12, 2013
    Ananta Chetan likes this.
  7. Ananta Chetan Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Aug 11, 2013
    star 4
    Thanks @Falcon!

    And... I like that image... I will add it to my collection! :p
  8. Admiral Volshe Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Sep 2, 2012
    star 8
    [IMG]

    This isn't working well. :p
    Last edited by Admiral Volshe, Sep 27, 2013
  9. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    @Ananta Chetan, no problem. This is the best place to ask those questions. :)

    Did all your questions about posting pics got answered? If not, this thread (see #4) might help you as well. :)
    Ananta Chetan likes this.
  10. Rainbow Knight Star Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Apr 18, 2005
    star 5
    Now I need to practice making immages. So, here we go. Someone please let me know whether or not this shows up. Advice and pointers are always welcomed.

    Rainbow Brite: A Wiki immage.

    [IMG]
  11. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    @Rainbow Knight Star, I can see that you added a pic, but the pic itself doesn't show up. There's just a placeholder instead.

    Not sure, what went wrong, but it seems that the letters "[ IMG ]" itself is a pic...
  12. I Are The Internets Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Nov 20, 2012
    star 7
    I can't see that either along with those apple pie pics you keep trying to show me.:(
  13. Rainbow Knight Star Game Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Apr 18, 2005
    star 5
    I don't know what to do. I typed [IMG]

    Just like the BB Code page says. I'm open for suggestions.

    [face_frustrated]

    @Bardan_Jusik Any ideas? You're always posting pics. How do you do it? Will you demonstrate with spaces? Please?

    :D
  14. jcgoble3 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 7, 2010
    star 4
    Testing something... One, two, three...
    Last edited by jcgoble3, Nov 12, 2013
  15. jcgoble3 Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Nov 7, 2010
    star 4
  16. The Hellhammer Grand Judicator of the New Film Territories

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 4, 2012
    star 5
  17. Pensivia Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2013
    star 4
    yet another random test:

    Edit: [drat...didn't work]
    Last edited by Pensivia, Nov 16, 2013
  18. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    What did you try to do, @Pensivia? Maybe anyone has an idea to get it work. :)
    Pensivia likes this.
  19. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    Edit: First no post is shown, then suddenly two. Ups.
    Last edited by Skiara, Nov 17, 2013
  20. DLINE Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 9, 2013
    star 1
  21. DLINE Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 9, 2013
    star 1
    Anthor test [IMG]
    Last edited by DLINE, Nov 17, 2013
  22. Pensivia Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Apr 24, 2013
    star 4
    Thanks, Skiara...

    I was trying to make a SW gif using that "gifsoup.com" site, and I got almost to the end (a page appeared with the gif, and it was moving) but then the whole page seemed to keep freezing up (I tried it multiple times) and I was trying to see if I could post the gif anyway by just linking to the frozen gifsoup.com page. But then the link that appeared in my post here only brought up the previous gifsoup.com page, which had the whole YouTube clip I was using as the source for the 2-second gif (instead of just the gif itself).

    No biggie. Maybe I'll try fooling with it again sometime later. Though I guess if anyone happens to read this post at some point and has run into this issue with the "gifsoup.com" site or has any general tips about using that site, they could post about it here and tag me.:)
  23. Skiara ~• Manager WNU •~ ~• RSA FFC •~

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Nov 5, 2002
    star 10
    @Pensivia, I don't use animated gifs, but it might be that it's disabled anyway. So even if you're doing everything correctly, it won't show up.

    @LAJ_FETT, it's disabled, right?
  24. Falcon Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Feb 7, 2002
    star 8
    I've seen animated posts posted in threads. But you can't use gifs or animated gifs in your signature, I remember they disabled it because it caused everything to run super slow. Depends on where he's attempting to post the animated gif...
    Last edited by Falcon, Nov 21, 2013
  25. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    I believe animated gifs are not allowed as avatars but I know I've seen them in posts. Perhaps the site was at fault.
Moderators: Skiara