main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

PT and OT alternate universes

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction and Writing Resource' started by Tahiri, Jun 8, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Tahiri

Tahiri Jedi Master star 4

Apr 9, 2001
    Just wondering, what do you all think of PT and OT AU's? I'm thinking about writing a PT/OT AU, but when I think about it, I'm not sure if it's that great. What would you define as a GOOD PT/OT AU -- what elements are good, or what tones for the fic? I'm a humor writer, so writing something serious is a bit hard for me, and I'd appreciate any tips.

2. Casper_Knightshade

Casper_Knightshade Force Ghost star 6

Oct 18, 2000
    Remember the Masks of Drama: Comedy and Tragedy.

The PT and the OT is still a treasure trove ripe for explotiation and exploration even thought the NJO is starting to come around. But the areas I think are not explored is the time inbetween and prior to the PT; you want to talk about creating your own astral plane of an AU, you talk to me about that.

Could it be all entirely comedy? Absolutely! Humor is just as simple as breathing; without it we turn blue and die. You could create all sorts of comical situations if you apply yourself to the known data.

OR be couragous; make up the entire AU. Create new characters and have them interact with new characters: that's pure creativity and it can be a draw of new readers; just remember characterization is what makes a reader relate to the characters.

Nothing says 'I'm not afraid of Writer's Block' than creating your own thing using SW as a template.

If you do PT and OT and you want to slip away from comedy, then I say be daring; it never hurts. And yes, in comedy there is tragedy; just remember, psychos and evil dudes have to laugh too. ;)

3. JediGaladriel

JediGaladriel Manager Emeritus star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Sep 3, 1999