main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Lit Question about publications in different languages

Discussion in 'Literature' started by UnshavenWookie14, Nov 5, 2017.

1. UnshavenWookie14

UnshavenWookie14 Jedi Knight star 1

Oct 20, 2017
    I’m relatively new to the expanded universe of Star Wars, but Having now discovered it I’m tearing through it as fast as I can get my hands on new content. I’m just sticking with canon for now until I get my foundation. Don’t want to blur the lines while I’m still learning. I’ve been going off the wiki timeline of content, and one of the things I discovered is that all publications of specific stories aren’t translated for all readers. Like there’s some mini comics that are only German, some Japanese content, etc. my question is this — what is the benefit to only providing those stories to one language of the fan base? I feel like I’m missing little crumbs simply because the content team didn’t translate it to English. I know these stories aren’t big or story altering, but I enjoy the little nuggets I get from the mini stories scattered throughout the novels and main marvel comic series. They lead to ‘ah ha!’ moments later down the road when they slip the tidbit in. So what’s the reasoning behind providing different stories specifically written for only certain language speaking fans? I’m also a bit of a completionist so this irks me when I’m trucking along and run into something I can’t absorb without spending several hours on Rosetta Stone.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

2. Jeff_Ferguson

Jeff_Ferguson Force Ghost star 5

May 15, 2006