main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

RPG Re: Improving Saga Edition (FFG is crap)

Discussion in 'Archive: Games' started by twowolves, Oct 20, 2013.

1. twowolves

twowolves Jedi Master star 4

Oct 6, 2013
    Bo shuda, ma pateessas!

I know I'm not making any friends saying Fantasy Flight Games' latest take on Star Wars RPG is crap, but hear me out. I talked to the guys at GenCon this year, and while they have nice books, they are short on maps. The one guy there, Andrew Navarro, I think, who is really nice, said that FFG is not focusing on maps and locations as much as the story itself.

First, as a gaming veteran, my response was whiskey-tango-foxtrot?! The core of a game is usually the maps. I don't know about the rest of you, but I am a visual person. I like the role-playing and story just as much as anyone else, but maps help me connect to the game in a way that is different than just story-telling. I love seeing all the intricate details of ship layouts, and planets, and such.

Second, I fear that FFG is repeating the same mistakes that Wizards of the Coast made with Saga Edition's lack of maps. Don't get me wrong, there were a lot of maps, but there should have been more, especially in the Starships of the Galaxy book. West End Games was a innovator, and helped blaze a trail in Star Wars by naming many of the beloved characters we saw in the movie, giving name to their species, origins, and homeworlds. Shouldn't we, as gamers, and more importantly, consumers, demand the same from FFG? And yet, they are ignoring this.