main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Saga Republic Commando: Survivor's Guilt (Atin vignette, PG)

Discussion in 'Fan Fiction- Before, Saga, and Beyond' started by Antilles2001, Jul 14, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Antilles2001

Antilles2001 Jedi Padawan star 4

Oct 20, 2001
    Disclaimer: Lucas owns all of it.

Survivor's Guilt

Red. Pure crimson blinded me. My HUD made it absolutely apparent I was down. 'Incapacitated' flashed in the center of my visor, over and over, mocking me. I struggled to get back on my feet.

I pictured myself pathetically writhing like the wounded beast I was.

"Atin! Hold on, we're on our way!"

"N...No..." I protested.

I was disgusted with myself. I wasn't an amateur, I was a damned professional!

I was born to be a professional. Literally born to do this job. My genes were copied from the great Jango Fett, then tinkered with by those Kaminoans. I hated them. We weren't men to them. We weren't human.

We were products. Cattle. Cannon fodder.

We commandos aren't supposed to make mistakes. We can't make mistakes because we're professionals. I took pride in that. Perfect warriors. Feared warriors that made no mistakes.

Fierfek. Some professional. A professional doesn't lay belly up on the ground, soaking wet with his blood. A professional doesn't make a stupid mistake that forces his mates to save him from his incompetence. A professional who makes a mistake deserves to die.

I deserved to die. I wasn't a professional. I was a disgrace to my mates. A liability. I prayed they'd give up and continue with our mission, leaving me to die.

I'd been running on point. I came across a wounded Geonosion spewing blood out is mouth. And for a split-second, I hesitated. Despite all my training, I hesitated. That was all the time bloody scumbag needed.

With his remaining strength, he fired a blast at me. At point blank range, a sonic round does wonders.