main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Canada Security (Crossing the boarder between the US and Canada)

Discussion in 'Canada Discussion Boards' started by YoungJediNiagara, Oct 10, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. YoungJediNiagara

YoungJediNiagara RSA Emeritus FF Canada star 4 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

Mar 23, 2001
    I'm not to sure about how secure the boarder crossings are in the Prairies (having the longest unprotected boarder in the world) or out east, but here in Southern Ontario the security was ?stepped up? after 9/11.... at least that was what we were told.

Wednesday night (Thursday morning) I left Canada to take a day trip to Baltimore, Maryland. For those that may not know, I drive trucks for a living and the trip was a "informational trip" to find out if it was something I wanted to do on a more permanent basis. (I'll be able to visit more with other FF Chapters :).)

On the way back I was dropped off on the Lewiston NY side of the Queenston/Lewiston boarder crossing in Southern Ontario. I was dropped off because the driver had to make a route change, and was unable to bring me back into Canada. So I had to walk across the bridge.

After hearing all about how much the security was increased, I figured I?d have to go into a building and empty my gym bag and give a reason why I was walking instead of driving along with showing some form of ID as to who I was and where I lived.

To my shock (and even disgust) I walked UNNOTICED AND UNQUESTIONED right past all the tollbooths and other boarder buildings. (Note: there were no sidewalks, I was walking on the street/bridge.)

For those that have not met me yet, I'm a fairly big guy: 240 lbs, 6 ft 1 in. tall, and I now have a shaved head. I was also carrying a very large gym bag and a large lunch box.
    NO ONE EVEN LOOKED AT ME.