main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Jedi / Light Side Shaak Ti Costume

Discussion in 'Costuming and Props' started by grumpydevil, Oct 1, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grumpydevil

grumpydevil Jedi Youngling star 3

Oct 1, 2005
    Hi,

This is my first time posting, but I've been checking out the threads for a couple of months. This Halloween my family has decided to be a team of Jedi. My son will be Anakin and I will be no one in particular. But here's the tricky part: my wife decided that she wanted to be Shaak Ti. I haven't seen that many Shaak Ti costumes out there (on the internet) and I was thinking that there's probably no better place to ask for opinions on how I should go about this.

We've got a difference in opinion on how to acheive both the montrals and the skin-tone. My idea is to take some thin foam and sew it into the appropriate shape for each peice (two for the top "horns" and three of the hanging lekku-like appendages) finding some way to attach all 5 pieces together and then to a "head-sock" that shows the full face. Then I'd end up airbrushing the whole thing in white, black and red (when it's needed). Some minor background on me: besides being an avid Star Wars fan, I also build lots of model kits and I paint a lot with an airbrush.

She suggested using paper mache to build the horns. Maybe that would be a better idea for something more like a head dress.

Anyway, the Shaak Ti clothing doesn't seem to be too hard to re-create. Some crumpled looking fabric for the skirt and a plain black tank top for the first covered by the standard Jedi robe and belt with a long peice of decorated leather in the front (hanging from behind the belt).

I'm going to find an airbrush-able red body paint so it (hopefully) won't look all sticky. Has anyone on the board had good experiences with certain brands?

Also, does anyone have a better suggestion for the montrals/lekku?