main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

So who reckons they have the best video card with the best graphics, screenshots wanted.

Discussion in 'Games' started by AlexJedi, Apr 29, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. AlexJedi

    AlexJedi Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Mar 3, 2002
    i doubt that my geforce 2 is giving me the best possible graphics.. But I dunno it looks pretty good to me. How do your systems look? Post screenshots of any game!
     
  2. Sithman

    Sithman Jedi Grand Master star 7

    Registered:
    Jul 6, 1999
    Mine's definitely not the best. Plus, I could crank my graphics, resolution, and FSAA up to the highest for a screenshot, but you guys would be none-the-wiser as to my frames-per-second. [face_mischievious]

    Fortunately, I'm too lazy to do that.
     
  3. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Dan or DUM-4. That is, until I get my GeForce4 GO, in which case Dan will be defeated in overall features, but not performance.
     
  4. SoloCommand

    SoloCommand Manager Emeritus & GTA Coruscant Developer star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jun 15, 2001
    Still waiting for funds for the God-Box PB?
     
  5. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Nah. If I can upgrade the laptop I'm still paying for to a GeForce4, I can hold off on moving on the God Box for quite some time. That is a good thing, too. There are some non-computing things I'd like to purchase (furniture, B&W photography).
     
  6. DUM4

    DUM4 Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Aug 23, 2000
    The only problem is that my Monitor doesn't support 1600x1200 resolution. :(
     
  7. Jedi Bib

    Jedi Bib Jedi Knight star 6

    Registered:
    Apr 16, 2000
    B&W Photography? What, did you pick on that decorating tip from Christopher Lowell?
     
  8. AlexJedi

    AlexJedi Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Mar 3, 2002
    heres what my JO looks like messing around with bots [image=http://www.ukgarageworldwide.co.uk/images/alex/jediscreen.jpg]
     
  9. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Jedi Bib- No. My home office is nice and vibrant, with street and bar signs. My bedroom is mellow. I like B&W photography, a lot. It'll be all gray in my bedroom. Nice and gray.

    AlexJedi- Why is that screenshot so damn blurry?
     
  10. SoloCommand

    SoloCommand Manager Emeritus & GTA Coruscant Developer star 5 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Jun 15, 2001
    I found the same problem when I was doing that picture of Jan for PB, you wanna put it into photoshop or something and increase the brightness.
     
  11. Jedi Bib

    Jedi Bib Jedi Knight star 6

    Registered:
    Apr 16, 2000
    Oh. MY bedroom has umm...a bed and some posters.
     
  12. AlexJedi

    AlexJedi Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Mar 3, 2002
    The screenshot is blurry because i resized it from 1200 width to 800
     
  13. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Well, then don't ask for our input on the image quality if you're going to be screwing with it.
     
  14. Dan

    Dan Jedi Grand Master star 6

    Registered:
    Mar 15, 1999
    I'm sure DUM beats me out. His processor and video card blow mine away, and he was twice the amount of RAM.
     
  15. Sithman

    Sithman Jedi Grand Master star 7

    Registered:
    Jul 6, 1999
    For me, it's gets to the point where I say, do I really want to throw away an extra several hundred dollars so I can get that extra 150fps, make sure that I cannot detect jaggies even with a microscope, and make my resolution so tiny that I have to shell out ANOTHER couple hundred just for that 21" monitor.



    I dunno, JO runs a good 60 or so fps on 1024x768, 17" flatscreen, and about 90% of the details on high.

    Works for me. :)
     
  16. KnghtHammr

    KnghtHammr Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Jul 15, 1999
    Check these specs and tell me if you're interested in some screenies:

    20inch NEC Flat Screen LCD with DVI-in
    nVidia GeForce3 6469 at 64MB with DVI-out
    Intel PIII 1.0GHz
    512 MB SDRAM

    I run JO with maxxed out features at 1280x1024......

    let's just say it looks pretty sharp......
     
  17. barnsthefatjedi

    barnsthefatjedi Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Feb 17, 2001
    I have it on 640x480 with medium graphical detail. :(
     
  18. Waning Drill

    Waning Drill Jedi Knight star 5

    Registered:
    Dec 30, 1999
    I only have a PII with a GeForce2, but I can still run it on Normal video quality without too much trouble. The only real problem lies in the sound during transitions (cut scenes, death animations, settings applications etc). But graphically it looks very nice - not as much slowdown as I expected either.

    What does 'fps' stand for? Is it frames per second?
     
  19. Emperor_Dan

    Emperor_Dan Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Aug 21, 1999
    WD - that's it.
     
  20. The_Chim

    The_Chim Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 16, 2001
    I have a brand Spankin' new Custom build Computer, from my uncle! :D

    It's got a 19-20 inch monitor, a ViewSonic PS790 Pro. Series.
    Powered by ASUS TUSL2-C Mother board.
    It's got a 64 MB RADEON 7200 graphics card, it runs up to 2048x1536 resolution.
    With a BUSlink DVD rom drive DR16.
    A Maxtor 7200 RPM Hard Drive.
    Sound Blaster LIVE Creative Surround System, Cambridge Soundworks.

    I dont have many games on my machine yet but It purs like a little kitten! :D
    I love it!!!
     
  21. GrandAdmiralJello

    GrandAdmiralJello Comms Admin ❉ Moderator Communitatis Litterarumque star 10 Staff Member Administrator

    Registered:
    Nov 28, 2000
    Guess what? I have a 16 meg Voodoo 3 PCI. And guess what? I got it the week before every tech stock on earth went straight to hell. 99 bucks one day, 19.99 the next. Seriously. [face_plain]
     
  22. CrixMakin

    CrixMakin Jedi Youngling star 2

    Registered:
    Feb 24, 2002
    I have an ONBOARD! YAy. Um. DAmn. I hate it. And no AGP slot. Waaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaah. I'm getting a new PC soon tho.
     
  23. AlexJedi

    AlexJedi Jedi Youngling star 1

    Registered:
    Mar 3, 2002
    here is another screenshot of mine with all my features maxed out

    [image=http://www.ukgarageworldwide.co.uk/images/alex/hiresjedi.jpg]
     
  24. PreacherBoy

    PreacherBoy Jedi Youngling star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 3, 1998
    Pretty good, but why is it so dark? What did you do to the sabers? They look fruity.
     
  25. Theron

    Theron Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Oct 23, 2000
    That saber is a skin, check it here [link=http://www.jediknightii.net/files/index.php?link=file&id=96]Saber[/link]. Me personally I don't care for it.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.