main
side
curve
  1. Welcome to the new boards! Details here!

[Space Combat Sim] Darkstar One

Discussion in 'Games' started by jp-30, Jun 28, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Support forums?
     
  2. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    [link=http://213.198.65.214/forum_DS/showthread.php?t=1530]Here[/link];

    [blockquote]Bug
    The Game crashes at startup with Data Execution Protection turned on.

    Workaround:
    Either disable DEP or exempt the darkstar executable from being subject to DEP.[/blockquote]

    So, do you have "DEP" turned on??
     
  3. MarcusP2

    MarcusP2 Games and Community Reaper star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Jul 10, 2004
    I did see that. But I'd never turned it on, so I ignored it. It seems it's still on the default- 'essential Windows programs and services only.'

    Edit: that was not the problem.
     
  4. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Man. You suck.
     
  5. MarcusP2

    MarcusP2 Games and Community Reaper star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Jul 10, 2004
    I think it's clear my computer sucks.
     
  6. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Maybe the game sucks.
     
  7. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    I got dibs on his computer being the sucking factor of the equation.

    :p
     
  8. MarcusP2

    MarcusP2 Games and Community Reaper star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Jul 10, 2004
    It's run everything else I've thrown at it without a problem. I vote this game. :p
     
  9. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Run a virus check?

     
  10. MarcusP2

    MarcusP2 Games and Community Reaper star 6 Staff Member Manager

    Registered:
    Jul 10, 2004
    Yes. I'm not a complete n00b, you know.
     
  11. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    So why can't you get your game going then?

    :p ;)
     
  12. jp-30

    jp-30 Manager Emeritus star 10 VIP - Former Mod/RSA

    Registered:
    Dec 14, 2000
    [image=http://usuarios.lycos.es/tulacki/fotos_computadoras/commodore_64.jpg]

     
  13. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Dude, no wonder. You need the tape version of the game. You should order it, you can't download cassette tapes! That's like trying to download a graphics card! Duh!
     
  14. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    The search function on these boards right royally sucks. I did a search for "darkstar one" and 3 hits returned and nothing was from this thread, so I have to sift through my recent posts to find it... someone do something about that search function, no wonder n00bs still post new threads, I hardly blame them now.

    Anyhoo, I saw this morning that this game is for sale in New Zealand for NZ$79.95 (US$50), anyone have it? story line as good as the demo made out?
     
  15. Obi_Wan_01

    Obi_Wan_01 Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Aug 17, 2001
    haha, I remember Jedi_Nailbiter once asked, "Where can I download a new video card?" What happened to that guy? Banned?

    The search function works fine for me. Got lots of Darkstar One links. You probably didn't select "All of the words entered" or "The exact phrase entered" in the "Using:" option area.

    EDIT: Hm... that's odd. If you enter only "Darkstar" using the "Any of the words entered" option, you get many links to the Darkstar One thread, but if you enter "Darkstar One" completely, not a single link to this thread. Ah whatever, the search function is frustrating. [face_plain]

    EDIT #2: If you enter "DarkstarOne" as one word using the "Any of the words entered" option, you get many links to this thread. OK, whatever, the search function can burn for all I care.
     
  16. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Yea, Nails is banned.

    Thank you for your enlightening explaination of the search function, I am truely inspired.
     
  17. jadesaber2

    jadesaber2 Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Oct 17, 2000
    I picked this game up a few weeks ago. Been playing it on and off since then. Haven't gotten too far, only a few plot points past the demo. It's really quite fun, except for the minor inconvenience of the game eating up all my memory and crashing to the desktop every half hour. That's kind of annoying.
     
  18. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    what specs are you running?
     
  19. jadesaber2

    jadesaber2 Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Athlon XP 3200, 1 gig of RAM, X1600XT. Running at 1280x1024 with medium graphics settings.
     
  20. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    how is it eating up all your memory?
     
  21. Ewok-Kenobi

    Ewok-Kenobi Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Aug 11, 2006
    illegal downloads from torrent sites. how i love them so.
     
  22. SithForceLord

    SithForceLord Jedi Master star 6

    Registered:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Why on earth did you need to quote me for what you just posted?

    And don't glorify piracy on these boards. It makes kittens cry.
     
  23. jadesaber2

    jadesaber2 Jedi Grand Master star 5

    Registered:
    Oct 17, 2000
    Apparently, the game uses up about 600 MB of my memory. Meaning that I have about 50 MB of memory to play around with (I've usually got about 350 MB in use full-time).

    Turns out, the game apparently doesn't like McAfee Enterprise 8, or one of the processes it has running in the background. I switched to a different anti-virus program, and was able to run the game for over three hours with nary a hiccup.

    Of course, it might just be the fact that McAfee ate up about 60 MB of memory, while the new program only uses 20.
     
  24. Ewok-Kenobi

    Ewok-Kenobi Jedi Padawan star 4

    Registered:
    Aug 11, 2006

    sorry, wrong quote.
     
  25. Star_Rocker

    Star_Rocker Jedi Master star 4

    Registered:
    Jan 16, 2006
    This game looks soo awesome. I want to get it but I'm pretty sure I need to upgrade my graphics card. Actually I almost cetain. Sometimes programs don't agree with each other, though Windows Live Messenger and Firefox use quite alot of memory up.

     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.