main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Story [Star Trek 5-year-mission] That's the Answer. One-shot.

Discussion in 'Non Star Wars Fan Fiction' started by WarmNyota_SweetAyesha, Jun 16, 2013.

1. WarmNyota_SweetAyesha

WarmNyota_SweetAyesha Chosen One star 8

Aug 31, 2004
    by Jade eyes Disclaimer: Borrowing, lovingly. Friendship warm/fuzzy and couple type mush.

-------

"I think we need to give each other a little space. So much has happened, so fast." Carol told Jim. "I was devastated and reeling after all that happened with Father..." Her eyes misted. "And you were there, a true rock." She smiled. "I can't deny I'm attracted to you ... but this offer of a groundside, Starbase assignment, it's what I studied for."

Jim felt his stomach tighten in knots. Carol was vibrant, lovely, and brave. But after all he had been through personally and professionally, could he have just thought he was in love? Could he just have been more in love with the idea of a love to share highs and lows with? How can one tell the difference?

One telling thing was that even though he knew he would miss her if she left, he wouldn't move heaven and earth to keep her. Part of that was his innate respect for her freedom of choice and his caring about her happiness. But deeper still, it related to the fact of how deep his own need went.

It never crossed his mind to insist.

He frowned. "I'd like you to stay. Very much. But I won't force you."

"If it's meant to be, it ..." Her words trailed off. How likely was it that their paths would cross, or that by the time the Enterprise's mission was up, they'd be ready, more ready, for something permanent together?

He sighed and shrugged philosophically.

He didn't let himself be soothed or mollified by her platitudes.