Star Wars not a battle between good and evil

Discussion in 'Star Wars Saga In-Depth' started by byrdnest, Aug 18, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: Darth_Nub, Lt.Cmdr.Thrawn
  1. byrdnest Jedi Knight

star 1
    Using good vs. evil makes the story of Star Wars simplistic in nature. What if the true story is about abrogation of power? About ridding oneself, society itself, of the need for power? Our world at least the western world, is all about gaining power, granted that is the nature of capitalism. When you have any sort of power, can you stand to not use it? I am a high school teacher, which should give me a sense of power in a way, but i only use that power when pushed up against the wall by a student. interestingly enough, i hardly ever have to use that power. What is the difference between the power the Emperor and Vader use and the power we use in our lives? Anakin did not accept the great suffering and did not sacrifice the use of power eventhough in the beginning his motives may have been good.

Luke, a powerless ridiculed farmboy, finds he holds the ultimate power. He carries within him the universe's destruction. In the end he forgoes that power instead of acquiring it. No wonder Luke is the true hero of this story. He is the only one who is willing to forsake power for the welfare of others. We humans cannot do this on our own. We have had Christ, Buddha, Mohammed, and countless mythological figures show us the way but unable to do it ourselves. For all the power the Emperor held, he was unable to defeat Luke. Who won the battle? the one able to turn away from the power.

King Arthur said he would use his Might to make Right. But power cannot defeat power. Mordred was quite powerful. He couldnt. Arthur realized this at the moment of his passing. That is why he ordered the sword thrown back in the lake.