TOR Star Wars: The Old Republic Discussion Thread.

Discussion in 'Games' started by Jedi Master Kenobiwan, Sep 22, 2013.

  1. ScorpionJedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2013
    star 3
    I'm bumping this as I really need help with this and this is seriously bothering me and I have no where else to go for this problem.
  2. Sgt Crowfield Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 1999
    star 4
    I didn't encounter it yet, but according to some players error code 4001 hints at a corrupted registry entry that prevents a comp from connecting to the server list. People on the net have suggested using a registry repair tool.
  3. LAJ_FETT Tech Admin and Collecting/Games Mod

    Administrator
    Member Since:
    May 25, 2002
    star 9
    Be careful about using that if you don't know what you're doing. If you screw up the registry you can really screw up a PC.
  4. ScorpionJedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2013
    star 3
    Exactly how should I use it?
  5. Sgt Crowfield Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 1999
    star 4
    Those tools usually scan your registry, discover broken keys and ask if they should repair them. But as LAJ_FETT correctly said, fiddling with reg keys can be dangerous. Besides, some of the free tools tend to piggyback malware. What's your OS and OS version? For newer Windows versions, the Tweaknow Regcleaner tool would be a decent choice (and (I hope!) malware free).
  6. thejeditraitor Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Aug 19, 2003
    star 4
    is this worth trying for free? and can i run it on non-gaming laptop?
  7. ScorpionJedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2013
    star 3
    Windows Home 7 Premium
  8. Sgt Crowfield Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 1999
    star 4
    Then you might try Tweaknow ... if you can get it from a reliable source (like the website of a computer magazine - for me locally, that would be Chip Online).
  9. ScorpionJedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2013
    star 3
    Tried it, didn't work at all :(
  10. Sgt Crowfield Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Jul 27, 1999
    star 4
    Oh, sorry to read that ... then I'm out of ideas as well.
  11. Jedi_Matt Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2002
    star 4
    @ScorpionJedi

    Use Windows System Restore

    Click Start > Type 'System Restore' and it's the only entry listed under 'Programs
    Click Next > Tick the box 'Show more restore points' in the lower left corner then select a restore point with a date prior to when you started having the issue (as you know that worked) > Click Next > Click Finish

    After the System Restore has finished try again and see how you get on.

    What the System Restore will do is remove any applications you may have installed since that date such as Windows Updates, your Registry tweaker, etc. and 'roll back' your registry to how it was on that date.

    All photos / music / videos /saved games (Other Data) will not be affected.

    Very, very occasionally a system restore fails. In this case run the System Restore again but choose a different restore point...
    Last edited by Jedi_Matt, May 1, 2014
  12. ScorpionJedi Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 19, 2013
    star 3
    It's all good. Apparently when the newest patch happened, it initiated a scan and repair on some files and I was up and playing again
    Sgt Crowfield likes this.
  13. Jedi_Matt Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2002
    star 4
  14. Duro_Blade Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 4, 2002
    star 3
    How's the population and end-game on this game? Is there a looking for raid/group tool implemented? i played at launch and haven't touched it in about 6 months. Not sure if enough has changed for me to hop back on and pay for it. i tried playing as a non-sub and it's an utter joke. absolutely no fun to be had.
  15. darthzac14 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2012
    star 3
    I got a question. I have played on and off since launch. Right now I'm on preferred status. I have a level 50 and level 33 with the rest at level 10. I just came into some extra money and don't know which I should do: buy Rise of the Hutt Cartel or buy a two-month subscription card.
  16. Rebecca_Daniels Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Sep 3, 2006
    star 5
    If you sub, you get the expansion free so I'd suggest subbing even just for a bit.


    Sent from my X-wing via R2-J6
  17. Jedi Master Kenobiwan Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Oct 8, 2011
    star 5
    Yeah, I'll have chosen the sub too. I bough the 60 days game time card just to get the expension free.
  18. -polymath- SFF:F/TV Trivia Host

    Game Host
    Member Since:
    Jun 7, 2007
    star 4
    Are people still actively playing this? I've been on it since launch and have played intermittently, with the past few months being fairly regular doing Dailies on CZ-198, Oricon, etc., and then FPs on the weekend. Just wondering whether there's still interest in the game with the denizens of the boards.
  19. darthzac14 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 8, 2012
    star 3
    I'm just gonna leave this here:
    Revanfan1 likes this.
  20. DWRevan Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Mar 1, 2014
    Show Spoiler
    I find all of this very hard to believe.
    It´s ridiculous to think EA is already working an a SWTOR followup, considering how long this game was in development.
    No to mention, if there was a team big enough for a next gen mmorpg working already, industy-insiders would have heard about it.
    And lets no even talk about the idea of putting more money into a service they already plan to discontinue.
    Last edited by DWRevan, Jun 1, 2014
    Revanfan1 likes this.
  21. RafSwi7 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 3, 2011
    star 1
    Anyone else having a problem subscribing?

    I mean I've bought 60 days non recurring subscription but I am still preferred in game but my account page says : "You have 59 days of subscription play time remaining".

    Could someone help me and post my problem on official forums (here). I don't know why but I can't post there and as preferred I am unable to access support in game. My nick in TOR is RafSwi. Server: The Red Eclipse.
  22. Ghost Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Oct 13, 2003
    star 6
    Just started playing again, and finally got to level 25, bought the Speeder skill, and bought a speeder.

    But I have no idea how to get on the speeder...
  23. Ender Sai Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Feb 18, 2001
    star 9
    lol Ghost.

    Press P, to bring up your skills. You'll have something like this - Class, Specialisation*, General, Legacy, Pets, Mounts.

    * So for me, Smugger then Scoundrel.

    Click on pets. Find your mount. Move the mount icon to a spare hotbar. Click it, you'll mount up.
  24. Ghost Chosen One

    Member Since:
    Oct 13, 2003
    star 6
    I actually had to ask for help, because the icon and vehicle tab weren't appearing even after I bought the speeder and the skill and right-clicked on it in inventory. They told me to reinstall the game, which I did, and then it worked.
    But thanks anyways.
    Last edited by Ghost, Aug 24, 2014
  25. PartyHans Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Sep 26, 2014
    Hi, so i have a problem
    No servers are showing up at all, and i've tried everything i've found on the internet, i've added both swtor.exe and launcher.exe to exeptions on the firewall, i've closed my anti virus, turned off the compatibilty, ran as administrator, ported forward, did the dns thing, restarted my router.
    Please help me, i've played before a while ago and didn't like the gameplay much, and went on to play DayZ for a long time, but now i want to play it because of the storyline, i liked KOTOR alot so i want to "continue"