suggestion

Discussion in 'Communications' started by Kerr_Plunk, Sep 12, 2002.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
  1. Kerr_Plunk Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2002
    star 6

    i thought it might be helpful if a link to the Guide to Admins and Forums was made available in the headers/footers of all the forums, and/or the name(s) of the specific forum Mod, and appropriate link(s) (i.e. profile page) up there as well...

    here are a few examples of where the links could go:

    1. Guide to Admins and Forums in header/footer
    2. Communications Mod(s) in header/footer
    3. Communications Mod(s) given their own <td> section

    at the very least, have the "Guide to Admins and Forums" somewhere...

    i am not suggesting that each one of those examples be implemented.. just one of them should work fine...

    pro: it will help persons know/identify who the particular forum mods are
    con: it takes up space, looks cluttered
    pro: people will get used to it, just like they did when the headers were first introduced
    con: no way of knowing if people even notice those beneficial links in the header/footer
    pro: easy way to contact a mod
    con: may confuse people about availability, who can resolve a board issue, etc...
    pro: could disable linking of Mod names
    pro: could have an additional link to Night4554's "There's a problem on the boards!" thread - which i would suggest renaming for this purpose (something like, "How to contact a Mod/Manager/Admin/")

    anyway... that's it.. so.. is this where i say "discuss"? :D

    edit 3: derr_plunk!
  2. Jedi_Nailbiter Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 22, 2000
    star 4
  3. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    I don't think it's technically possible to have a new row under Post New Topic, but putting </td><td> or <br> in the header would put a new line under the header.

    I also know she didn't show it, but if possible this looks good too

    ¤Night
  4. Kerr_Plunk Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2002
    star 6

    hehee.. Night.. you were snooping, huh? ;)

    the problem with that one, that i noticed, is that when you go into a thread, the thread title appears in that empty field.. so, i don't think that one is even possible :(
  5. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    When you go from 2 to 3 to 6 I get curious ;)

    I see what you mean though.

    And for the record, I don't care what the administration does to my Problem thread.

    ¤Night
  6. Dark_Lord_Erik Manager Emeritus

    Member Since:
    Jan 19, 2001
    star 5
    Good idea Kerr_Plunk.

    Is there any chance of this being done?
  7. farraday Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 7
    You know I'm a little confused as to why they link to the informational forum and to threads in it.

    Other then that I have a few concerns which Plunky seems to have mentioned and want to know what the mods think.
  8. Rogue1-and-a-half Manager Emeritus who is writing his masterpiece

    Member Since:
    Nov 2, 2000
    star 8
    Personally, I like Kerr_Plunk's second choice up there in her first post.

    The fact that I love her with all of my heart does not enter into the discussion . . . ;)
  9. MasterPulp Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 17, 2002
    star 3
    What a great and useful idea! I'm shocked that no one had thought of it before.
  10. Kerr_Plunk Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 2, 2002
    star 6

    it was pointed out to me that the Games* forum already has something similar to what i am proposing, in the header...

    *enter at your own risk ;)
  11. MasterPulp Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 17, 2002
    star 3
    You're just being modest. Admit it, you implemented in the games forum to give yourself leverage here... Very crafty.




    Okay, so I was wrong. I still think that's a really good idea. I know I always assume someone else will take the time to PM a mod so I won't have to.
  12. farraday Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 7
    Would a mod like to comment on this?
  13. Mara_Jade_Fan Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 1, 2002
    star 6
    On FanForce we have something similar. I am the CR for San Diego, so there is a link at the top of the San Diego FanForce boards that says "Contact San Diego's City Rep." You need to discuss this with the mod of the particular boards you wish to have links for.
  14. shinjo_jedi Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    May 21, 2002
    star 5
    That is actually a wonderfull idea Kerr_Plunk :)
  15. Aunecah_Skywalker Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Mar 25, 2002
    star 5
  16. keokiswahine Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Sep 4, 2000
    star 5
    you're talking about a "sticky" at the top, right? sounds good.
  17. Kadue Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 20, 2000
    star 5
    Thanks for bringing this up Kerr_Plunk. Adding links to the forum moderators was going to be done with some of the forums, but it kinda got lost in amongst everything else, and was forgotten.

    Some problems with it though:
    1) As others have said, we can't alther anything except for the first table of the boards. While we can separate that table into others, everything we change will still have to exist above the table that has the Login and option links.

    2) We have a 1500 character limit, so for some forums, it might not be possible to firt all of the admins in there with all of the links. Either some sacrifices have to be made, or we come up with a different alternative, like a page that we can link to different sections of.

    3) No matter what is done, the very last line of the table has to have the navigation links as IGNBoards automatically adds the thread title or "Post Reply" to the end of the table, and in tests, it does look wierd when appended to other things.

    That being said, keep thinking and suggesting with these things now in mind. The headers are there for everyones benefit, so if you think of better ways to use them, we're happy to hear them.
  18. DarthSapient Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jun 26, 2001
    star 10
    Thanks for all the suggestions, KP. As mentioned by Kadue, we are sometimes limited by the programming. But your ideas are fantastic and some templates are being developed in Mod Squad.
  19. Gandalf the Grey Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 14, 2000
    star 6
    We've implemented some of the suggestions in the Literature forum.
  20. Yomin_Carr Force Ghost

    Member Since:
    Jan 12, 2002
    star 4
    I'm not sure this relates to this topic, but the Roleplaying Forum has a "Contact a Forum Moderator" in its header added today.
  21. Kadue Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 20, 2000
    star 5
    Yep, I updated the RP header with some of the new things we've been looking at, at DA's request. Currently we have about 4 different versions of what we can do depending on the forum and what we want, and we're finding out some more ways to circumvent the limitations we thought we had.

    Currently only 3SA, Lit and RP have had alterations made, but we'll get through all of them eventually. Keep suggesting things that you think might be worth having there, and other possible ways to display it all. :)
  22. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    I'm pretty sure I solved the length problem!

    First, open notepad and paste soemthing to this effect:


    document.write("PM a forum moderator: <a class=\"kad\" href=\"http://boards.theforce.net/pm_send.asp?usr=242022\">Kadue</a> | <a class=\"tg\" href=\"http://boards.theforce.net/pm_send.asp?usr=233338\">The Gatherer</a> | <a class=\"gtg\" href=\"http://boards.theforce.net/pm_send.asp?usr=240887\">Gandolf the Grey</a> | <a class=\"sta\" href=\"http://boards.theforce.net/pm_send.asp?usr=242055\">Sturm Antilles</a>");


    Then save it as a .js file and add this to the header:

    <script type="text/javascript" src="YOURFILENAME.js"></script>


    This will call the js file using javascript, execute it, outputting the contents to the screen.

    All you need to remeber is always include a \ before any quotations marks in the document.write("TEXT AREA");

    You can then use any amount of characters you want, and can host the js file on TFN in that www1.theforce.net/JC/ folder the images are stored in.

    Go test it!

    ¤Night
  23. green_cross_code Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2000
    star 5
    We're way ahead of you. ;)

    But thanks for the advice anyway! :)
  24. Night4554 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Oct 9, 2000
    star 5
    But but but

    I posted less than 3 hours after Kadue asked for ideas on how to display it!

    :(

    ¤Night
  25. green_cross_code Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 11, 2000
    star 5
    I think Kadue means the visual layout. We're just starting to play around with external JS files at the moment.

    But if we weren't, you certainly would have prompted us to!
Moderators: JoinTheSchwarz, LAJ_FETT, Ramza
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.