main
side
curve
  1. In Memory of LAJ_FETT: Please share your remembrances and condolences HERE

Suggestions?

Discussion in 'Literature' started by The_Jesstar, May 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. The_Jesstar

The_Jesstar Jedi Master star 4

Feb 21, 2003
    Hey everyone,

I'm new to EU, just wondering if anyone has suggestions of a good book to start with, that wouldn't confuse me? I know the basics of EU, but wanna know more... Suggestions? Thoughts? Condemnations? :p

~Jess

2. Le_Sammler

Le_Sammler Jedi Youngling star 4

Mar 21, 2005
    What basics of the EU do you know?

Also, what attracts you to Star Wars? Who are your fav characters? With some focus, we could narrow down the stories for you. Do you prefer the prequel era, or the original trilogy era? Etc...

3. Spacehunter24

Spacehunter24 Jedi Padawan star 4

Jan 2, 2003
    If you like the OT era and Han is a favorite character, you can't go wrong with THE HAN SOLO TRILOGY by A.C. Crispin, my absolute favorite EU book series. They chronicle Han's life from age 19 to 29, right up to his introduction in ANH. The books, in order, are "The Paradise Snare," "The Hutt Gambit" (my favorite of the three), and "Rebel Dawn". Awesome books!

Also, THE HAN SOLO ADVENTURES by Brian Daley, among the earliest of the EU. Stories aren't very deep, but they're fun little reads. In order, they are "Han Solo At Stars' End", "Han Solo's Revenge" (again, my favorite of the three), and "Han Solo and the Lost Legacy."

SHADOW'S OF THE EMPIRE, set between ESB and ROTJ, is also very good.

But these are all just my opinions. There are some who will tell you these books suck and should be avoided. But I very much recommend them. :)

4. The_Jesstar

Feb 21, 2003
    Actually, Han is a big fav, well, I love the whole Solo family, but did I hear correctly? Leia turns to the darkside? :_| No!!! Tell me I am incorrect..

Thanks for the suggestions. :)

5. DavBacca

DavBacca Jedi Master star 2

Jun 13, 2002