SW:CCG FAQ (post your ruling questions here)

Discussion in 'Games: CCG, TCG, and Boardgames' started by Bib Fortuna Twi'lek, Apr 12, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Red84 SWCCG Content Mgr. (Card Games)

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2000
    star 4
    Question 1: Anytime all the ability is removed from the a battle (either because the character/starship is immediately lost or via cards like Clash of Sabers/You Are Beaten, Blast The Door Kid, Set For Stun, etc.) the battle immediately ends. And because those actions can only occur during the weapons phase there is no battle destiny drawn or totalling of power. Any 'hit' cards are still lost.

    Question 2: The amount can vary depending on the amount of sites at the Rebel Base and whether or not you are using the SYCFA objective. See Commence Primary Ignition for how to calculate the Force loss.
  2. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    Light Side loses twice the amount of LS icons destroyed on the planet, excluding generic sites. Apply any icon modifiers such as Yoda, Qui-Gon, Sleen, Presence Of The Force, etc. SYCFA also specifies that Light loses 3 more Force for each Light Yavin site destroyed.
  3. 4Q2 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 1
    Whoops! Didn't notice someone had already answered this question. Sorry!
  4. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    If a squadron essentially replaces the three fighters of it's type and becomes a representation of those cards, if one replaces three non-unique y-wings with a Y-Wing Assault Squadron, for example, and then plays All Wings Report In, do Y-wing Assault Squadrons count towards X, since the squad represents the 3 cards it replaces?
  5. Red84 SWCCG Content Mgr. (Card Games)

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2000
    star 4
    No because AWRI targets copies of a non-unique starfighter not the starfighter's characteristic itself.
  6. DarthJago Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2000
    star 3
    On Maul's gametext, it says "Unless opponent's character of ability >3 here, opponents total ability here=0. So if there is Qui-Gon (ability 7)at the same site, but there is also Shmi Skywalker (ability 3), do you count just Qui-Gon, or Shmi too?
  7. Red84 SWCCG Content Mgr. (Card Games)

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2000
    star 4
    Okay, I'm not quite sure what you are asking but here it goes: Maul's text is putting a condition on the site. Basically the LS has to have a character of ability 4 or higher wherever Maul is in order to preserve their ability at that location. So in your example Qui-Gon satisfies the requirement for the site. As long as he there the LS's ability is intact.
  8. DarthJago Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2000
    star 3
    Question: On weapon cards when it says it may fire at an adjacent site, does it mean you can fire out of a battle or into a battle? Or both?
  9. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    Ok, here's a podracing question:

    Say, for example, you opponent is down to 1 force left and you are down to 2 force. A pod race has been going on and the draw this turn will basicly decide the winner, but your podracer is damaged, so if you draw another race destiny (and decide to use it), you'll have to lose your last force card.

    My question is, what takes precedence? Now, your force pile is down to 0, but, at the same time, all the cards in the podrace are to be cycled back into the used pile, along with the recovered force for winning the race. AT least that's how it seems to me.

    Can you lose your last force to trigger an (apparently immediate) action that brings cards back into your life force?
  10. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    1st question: whenever you fire a long-range weapon, the target must be participating in battle.

    2nd question: The game would be over right then and there. Remember, the winner is determined during the move phase, and the destinies are drawn during the control phase. Therefore, the game would be over.

  11. youngvader Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 21, 1999
    star 5
    If you read Sebulba's Podracer, the text is not well written. It goes something like that:

    "During you control phase, may use 2 Forces. Opponent draw no destiny this turn".

    Since there is a period between the using two forces and the opponent draws no destiny, they will have to come up with an errata soon because according to hoe other cards work, these two sentences are not related, thus using two forces has nothing to do as when you decide that opponent draws no destiny. People will contest that like crazy.

    Or am I getting this all wrong?
  12. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    It doesn't matter if they're separate sentences. You still use 2 Force to cause the opponent to not draw destiny next time.
  13. youngvader Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 21, 1999
    star 5
    On other cards, usually when sentences are separeted by a period, they are not related to each other.
  14. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    There are plenty of cards with 2 separate related sentences:

    Darth Vader, Dark Lord Of The Sith
    Epic Duel
    Boonta Eve Podrace
    Neck And Neck
    Transmission Terminated
    Master Luke
    A Gift
    Just about every weapon in the game

    And there are many others.
  15. Red84 SWCCG Content Mgr. (Card Games)

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2000
    star 4
    Bib F. is correct with his ruling.
  16. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    Even though it doesn't apply to the podrace question as you mentioned- I'm curious to know that if a situation should occur (I can't really think of any examples though) where you could lose your last force to trigger force retrieval (or cycle cards on the table to your used pile, etc), does that end the game or is it allowed to occur?


    On an unrelated note- are you able to play an interrupt at the very end of game, say, as your opponent is losing the force called from a force drain, that, once he loses them all, will end the game. For example, could one call a force drain of 3 on an opponent who has only 2 force left, and then play All Wings Report In to recover force and boost his win total? Obviously it would be smarter to do this BEFORE calling the force drain, but I'm just wondering thats all.
  17. Red84 SWCCG Content Mgr. (Card Games)

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2000
    star 4
    The moment your Force is depleted the game ends. No if, ands, or buts.

    A Force drain is one whole action. So if you want to play All Wings Report In you better do it before you initiate the drain. (This was under actions in the Glossary.)
  18. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    You cannot play cards during any top level action, unless the card you're playing is an attempt to specifically modify or cancel the current action.

    So you have to play AWRI before the drain is initiated, because AWRI is not a response to the drain.

    Once any player has 0 Life Force remaining, the game is over. Period. It doesn't matter if that last Force you lost was to retrieve some cards.
  19. MoronDude Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 1, 2000
    star 6
    I have two questions:

    1) Can Combat Vehicles attack ground troops?

    2) Does Padme's gametext (may deploy qui-gon or obi-wan to same site as a react) work with Obi-Wan Kenobi, Obi-Wan, or Ben Kenobi?
  20. youngvader Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 21, 1999
    star 5
    1) Sure, why not?

    2) 1st, Padme's game text does not say as a react. Second, any personna of Obi-Wan Kenobi works.
  21. BigPoppaJabba Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2001
    star 4
    Not aq ruling question, but something that could be added to your FAQ since it comes up every other day on the Decipher BBS:

    If TIGIH is on table, and Arica is deployed to Luke's location, does she capture him?

    I know the answer is no, you know that it is no, but still it is asked. Maybe add it to your FAQ
  22. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    I have updated the FAQ a little bit since I posted it here. The one I regularly post on Decipher has the Arica question, plus one more:

    Q: Can Arica capture Luke while There Is Good In Him is on table?
    A: No. Undercover spies cannot escort captives.

    Q: Can you move as a 'react' via docking bay transit?
    A: No. Only landspeed, hyperspeed, sector movement, embarking, disembarking, landing and taking off are legal 'react' moves.

    Q: If both players deploy Boonta Eve Podrace, can we have 2 races in the same game?
    A: No. Because they have the same title, and they both say "once per game," you can only have 1 podrace per game.
  23. DarthJago Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2000
    star 3
    Can you use Japanese cards in games?
    Anyways what is the point of them?
  24. 4Q2 Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 6, 2001
    star 1
    Yes, you can play Japanese cards in regular tournament play. However, you should have an English version of each different Japanese card available, set aside (not in play) in case your opponent challenges you or questions you about its game text. No photocopies, no printouts of the card images from decipher.com, etc... it has to be the same card.

    For example, if you are playing Japanese Probe Droids (I know a guy who collected them) you need to bring at least one English Probe Droid and set it aside. You don't have to show it to your opponent yet (that might tip him off as to what kind of deck you're playing). But when a Japanese Probe Droid comes into play, take the copy you set aside and show it to your opponent so he can read it.

  25. DarthJago Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2000
    star 3
    Thanks 4Q2. Also I think I'll just double check this. Darth Vader With Lightsaber, Obi Wan With Lightsaber, and Luke With Lightsaber aren't immune to any attrition, and don't add one to force drain, correct?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.