SW:CCG FAQ (post your ruling questions here)

Discussion in 'Games: CCG, TCG, and Boardgames' started by Bib Fortuna Twi'lek, Apr 12, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. BigPoppaJabba Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jun 4, 2001
    star 4
  2. Anonymous_Jedi Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2001
    star 4
    Would a site deployed from an objective count for Combat Readiness' starting interupt part?
  3. BrenDerlin Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 20, 2001
    star 2
    Hmm... The short answer is.......no. Read the card:

    ...STARTING: If you have not deployed an Objective, deploy from Reserve Deck one battleground site (or two <> sites) related to your starting location. Place Interrupt in Reserve Deck.

    So if you have an objective on table, you can't use this for your starting interrupt.
  4. Anonymous_Jedi Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Apr 4, 2001
    star 4
    Lol, I forgot that it said that! [face_blush]
  5. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    It often pays to read the cards. ;)
  6. The2ndQuest Tri-Mod With a Mouth

    Manager
    Member Since:
    Jan 27, 2000
    star 10
    With a landed starship...

    -Does a permanent pilot provide ability towards drawing destiny/creating presence for initating/blocking a force drain?

    -Does a pilot character aboard the ship proviode ability towards drawing destiny/creating presence for initating/blocking a force drain?

    -TIE's cannot land, correct?
  7. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    -Does a permanent pilot provide ability towards drawing destiny/creating presence for initating/blocking a force drain?
    Pilots aboard landed starships do not provide ability towards drawing destiny, but they do provide ability so they can drain, block drains and be battled.

    -Does a pilot character aboard the ship proviode ability towards drawing destiny/creating presence for initating/blocking a force drain?
    See above

    -TIE's cannot land, correct?
    They can only land at docking bays
  8. BrenDerlin Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Apr 20, 2001
    star 2
    Hey, on that note, can a pilot's Game Text apply?

    example: I have Mirax on The pulsar skate landed somewhere. do I get a Battle Destiny?
  9. Ultima_1 Jedi Grand Master

    Member Since:
    May 16, 2001
    star 5
    No, I don't think you do.
  10. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    Nope, pilots don't get to use their piloting text while their ship is landed.
  11. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
  12. NissoJape Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Nov 15, 2002
    star 1
    what are some good weapons that make cards immediately lost?
  13. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    Leia's Blaster Rifle, Leia's Sporting Blaster (V), Disruptor Pistols, any weapon fired by IG-88, any weapon with Dr. Evazan, AAT Laser Cannon, Energy Shell Launchers, Thermal Detonator, Concussion Grenade, Dark Strike, and Blaster Proficiency.
  14. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
  15. ninjapheret Jedi Knight

    Member Since:
    Mar 10, 2002
    star 1
    Why can't a landed pilot force drain? I always assumed he could. I know he's got power of zero, as the ship has no power, but I always thought they could drain.
  16. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    A landed ship can Force drain, block Force drains, initiate battle and be battled, as long as there are passengers or a permanent pilot with total ability of at least 1 aboard.
  17. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
  18. Restrainingbolt Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Feb 12, 2002
    star 4
  19. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
  20. Bib Fortuna Twi'lek Jedi Youngling

    Member Since:
    Jul 9, 1999
    star 10
    No one wants to post any rules questions? :(
  21. hairlesswookiee Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2003
    some of this is going to be obvious but please bear with me. if i get back into playing my first deck will be base on this theme, so i want to know.

    a. you can bury every type of mine that deploys to a site, correct?
    b. when timer mine is buried does it last only one round or until its tripped (i believe i always played that it wait until tripped, worked in my benefit ;))
    c. what causes a mine to be tripped? i believe i assumed that any kind of disturdance to the site by your opponent cause it (ie. op. vehicle moving across the site, op. character moving to or from the site, op. character or vehicle deployed to site)
    d. if the mines are triggered when an opponent moves away from or across the site is that character or vehicle still endangered by the mines or only the characters or vehicles that remain at the site.
    thanx
  22. Shewski Jedi Master

    Member Since:
    Jul 12, 2002
    star 4
    From the glossary:

    mining droid rules ? When your mining droid is present at any site, it may ?lay? (deploy)
    mines face up there. If the droid is on a planet, it may also ?bury? (place) mines face down there to simulate creation of a minefield. If you have a mining droid present at an exterior planet site during your deploy phase, you may bury (place) any number of cards from your hand face down underneath that site. You may choose to bury ?real? mines, ?duds? (non-mine cards buried as a bluff) or a mixture of the two.
    When any character, vehicle or starship deploys or moves to or across that site, all buried cards there are ?tripped? (revealed). Any duds are simply lost. Any mines ?explode,? targeting the card
    that tripped them if applicable (see Timer Mine).
    Buried cards are not considered to be on table. If buried mines are tripped during your turn and you have a mining droid present, you may choose to ?defuse? any or all of them (at normal use of the Force) before they explode.

    As you can see, the answer to A is any card can be buried, including all types of mines. B's answer is that the mine is buried until tripped, and then goes off. C is detailed above.

    D is a little different. If they move away from a site, they are not tripped, but if moving across the site the cards are conceptually there when they trip the mines but can move on after seeing if they survive the effects.
  23. hairlesswookiee Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2003
    so i guess that leads to another question. it makes sense that both player can trip the mines. but how does the timer mine work arfter being trip? does it target only the characters for the player who tripped the mine. or does it target your opposition characters only. or (something i didn't think of when i was playing the game) does the timer mine simply get activated to blowup exactly how the gametext discribes?
  24. Red84 SWCCG Content Mgr. (Card Games)

    VIP
    Member Since:
    Oct 20, 2000
    star 4
    The mine works as normal.. it doesn't target your character when played face up, so it doesn't target them if its tripped either.

    I've play mines.. lots of fun if you're good at bluffing :)
  25. hairlesswookiee Jedi Padawan

    Member Since:
    Sep 30, 2003
    it's more like poker than sabacc is. well that clears things up tremendously. i thought for sure my old deck spent most of it's time cheating. the only area i was wrong was with the timer mine, which unfortunately was probably the most powerful and useful in that deck when used improperly. thanx alot for the help. though i do have a new strategy on how to effectively use those timer mines. i'll just always play the face up and force them to move and trigger another mine or stay and get blown up. that may just be a heck of alot of fun. now i'll have to find some people to play. thanx all of you for the help.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.